Jewelry Designer Barbara Bixby Will Be A No-Show At QVC

Another veteran QVC vendor has decided to no longer make that long, lonely ride to West Chester to do on-air product presentations.

You won’t be seeing jewelry designer Barbara Bixby, whose creations are divine, on the Q any more. We found out about it not via Barbara, but through a third-person Facebook post on “Barbara Bixby Designs.”

The post said “Deciding not to do on-air presentations at QVC was one of the hardest decisions she has ever had to make but after 20 years it was time to do the things that is also passionate about as well as continuing with her jewelry.”

The post said Barbara will continue to sell her creations on QVC.com as well as BarbaraBixby.com.

Recently fashion designer Louis Dell’Olio, who lost his wife and sometime-QVC model to cancer a few years back, also announced that he would no longer be doing on-air presentations.

We don’t blame these folks for not wanting to trek to QVC. We did it once, and it is a hike. But we enjoy listening to creators, especially people like Barbara, explain the inspiration for their work.

And with this development, we quite frankly wonder how long Barbara’s jewelry will continue to be sold on QVC.

Tags: , ,

15 Responses to “Jewelry Designer Barbara Bixby Will Be A No-Show At QVC”

  1. sara Says:

    I can see why it was hard for Louis, but Bixby? With the monies she charges for her wares, she should be smiling big time , for every mile she travels………..

  2. elizabeth langevin Says:

    I LOVE Barbara Bixby designs, own many, and I adore them. She really doesn’t need to sell them, they sell themselves. She is a celebrated jewelry designer around the world, love it. I used to enjoy her presentations, but now hosts like Courtney Konobi can talk over herself instead of the guest.

    • Donna Says:

      I agree with you Elizabeth. Anyone who says Barbara’s jewelry line was too expensive obviously knows nothing about fine jewelry. I own Chopard, Pasquale Bruni and many other high end jewelry. Barbara Bixby designs are quite reasonable considering the quality and uniqueness of her designs, you won’t find her at Wal-Mart, šŸ˜„

  3. Jerri Says:

    Was Bixby on HSN before she went to QVC? I have a vague memory of her being on there. Or maybe it’s that my memory is just vague. šŸ¤”šŸ¤”

  4. Brooke Says:

    I imagine Bixby does a great deal of business on her private website. With all the changes at QVC, it will probably be a relief to her not to be bound by their constraints.
    If QVC does discontinue her line, I’m sure she’ll do fine with her own website. Her jewelry is very unique, and very popular. I wish her the best.

  5. Deb Says:

    I was on the Qs website and saw a video that basically thanks Judith Ripka for her 20 years. I had no idea she was also leaving the channel. (It was vague, so not sure if her jewelry will still be sold on the Q or not, but my sense was that it will not.)

    • homeshoppingista Says:

      wow

    • Elizabeth Langevin Says:

      I bet Judith will have a stand in for her jewelry shows, as prolly Barbara will too. I can’t see the big money lines being let go. Judith sells on HSN too. I imagine they pay extra for them to appear, and since the lines do well, they maybe cutting costs that way. The Q doesn’t sell as much jewelry as they used to, and instead pushing poor quality clothes off as high end……not. For instance, the Tolani line not made of 100% silk, is sold for close to the Neiman Marcus sale Tolani items. The Clarke shoes are not the quality of the earlier Clarkes, sad really.

    • Siobhan Says:

      Wow. Vendors are exiting QVC and HSN in droves. HSN, QVC, HQ, and others are firing good hosts. I’m glad I got home shopping out of my system about 16 years ago. It has become a big, unstable mess.
      One can only hope these vendors end up at HQ. Once in a great while, I shop there. All these changes make me question the future of home shopping.

      • elizabeth langevin Says:

        The Q thinks they are a TV Neiman Marcus, or hope they’re fooling the public, cuz their products are horrible, and cheaply made. They used to have beautiful stuff in the 90s, but now, no.

  6. Joelle Says:

    That’s too bad. She will be missed. She’ll do ok, though. I predict she’ll move her line all to her private venue, and to stores where it’s currently being sold. I can’t blame anyone for leaving QVC.

Leave a comment