Barry Ort, Kenneth Jay Lane Rep On QVC, Dies

Barry Ort

Barry Ort

Here’s some really sad news: Barry Ort, who repped the Kenneth Jay Lane fashion jewelry line on QVC, has died.

We learned the news on Facebook Thursday, through a post by QVC host Jacque Gonzales.

“It is with heartfelt sadness that I let you know that our dear friend Barry Ort has unexpectedly passed away,” Gonzales wrote. “Please keep his family and loved ones in your prayers.”

We checked Ort’s Facebook, and there was no mention or explanation of his death.

But QVC U.S. CEO Claire Watts posted an item on his death n QVC.com, and QVC host Lisa Robertson mentioned him on Facebook, as well.

http://community.qvc.com/blogs/jewelry-talk/topic/423865/qvc-mourns-the-passing-of-barry-ort.aspx

Here is what Watts wrote:

We are saddened to inform you of the passing of QVC vendor Barry Ort. Our thoughts and prayers are with his family and loved ones during this difficult time.

Barry will be remembered for his wit, creativity and philanthropy. Barry brought the iconic Kenneth Jay Lane brand to the QVC customer in 1991, and eventually became the on-air spokesperson for the brand around the world. He was known for his commitment to creating products for QVC that generated awareness and raised funds dedicated to finding a cure for breast cancer.

Barry was beloved by many at QVC, and his warm personality and great sense of humor will be missed.

Claire Watts

Robertson put this on Facebook. It sounds like she and Ort were tight.

https://www.facebook.com/LisaRobertsonQVC

I found out today that my dear friend, Barry Ort, has passed away unexpectedly. It is a huge shock to the many of us that love him. I was trying to think of how long I have known him, and realized it has been so many years and he was so easy to be with, that it feels like I have known him forever.

We went to lunch recently and I enjoyed letting him do the talking and me doing more of the listening for a change. We talked about work a lot, as we both love it, but also about life, love, friends, family, broadway and everything else.

He was always an adventure, always fun, always with another idea. I went places with him that I never would have gone without him. From unusual broadway shows to Inaugural Balls, and enjoyed every minute of it. What you saw with Barry is what you got. He was “true blue”, did not have time for “airs” and wasn’t too concerned with what other people thought of him.

I can not believe he is gone. I loved and valued him very much. My greatest hope is that I was half as good a friend to him, as he was to me.

We’re not big fans of costume jewelry, but the Kenneth Jay Lane line was classy, and we remember Ort as being a witty and informative guest on QVC.

So sorry to hear of his passing.

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Barry Ort, Kenneth Jay Lane Rep On QVC, Dies”

  1. Lora Says:

    I feel bad I had meant to email this to you earlier and got caught up in reading everything I could find. Posted comment on his face book and page and Lisa’s Robertsons.
    Very sad because he was so young,early 50’s and had finally come out just a few years back and seemed to have come into himself.

  2. Joanie B. Says:

    RIP, Barry !! Yet another one of The Good Guys is gone. He will be fondly remembered for a very long time.

  3. Wordpress Says:

    What a truly beautiful soul! I enjoyed his giving spirit on QVC, he will surely be missed. Rest in peace Barry, we All loved You! Your honesty, integrity, and inspiration will live on in KJL, I will appreciate these pieces even more. I will think of you fondly and smile, the way you made all of us smile! Remember, “cost per wear” you will always be the best Barry-love You!

  4. Carla Boleyjack Says:

    Barry you will truly be missed. I am so sad to hear about your sudden passing, heard in on PM style. I was so sad and shocked.

    I have many many pieces of Kenneth Jay Lane jewelry and thanks to
    Barry the way he presented the jewelry was always so special and fun to me.. I will miss seeing him on the Q and watching him and waiting up late, just to see Barry present the jewelry. I will cherish even more all the pieces I have. Again, my prayers go out to all his loved ones, and I feel like I lost a very good friend as well, even though I did not know Barry personally. May you rest with Jesus and
    your soul rest in Peace.

    With Love QVC Fan Carla from Nashville, Tennessee

  5. Queen Celeste Says:

    What terribly sad news. It is true that we see hosts and guests so often they can feel as familiar and beloved (or exasperating, in some cases!) as family or friends. Lisa’s tribute was really lovely. I’ll miss Barry’s verve and joie de vivre very much.

  6. Theresa Says:

    There are few people whose personality pops out of your TV and makes you smile. Barry Ort’s warm and friendly face will truly be missed by all of us who enjoyed him. My heartfelt prayers are with all who loved their dear Barry.

  7. Cheryl Snead Says:

    From what I read, he had a very full life. He will be sorely missed. May God Bless and Keep you

  8. Linda Says:

    I can’t say much more to add to the wonderful things said about Barry Ort. I loved watching him on QVC. Always so pleasant and knowledgeable about the product line. He will be so very missed. My sincerest condolences to his family and loved ones. First Jeanne Bice, now Barry Ort. God said it is time now and has added 2 more to his flock of angels.

  9. Susan Rice Says:

    I just heard about the passing of Barry Ort, I am a QVC customer that loved watching Barry talk about the Jewelry, I am so sad and I never knew him, that says something about his soul and the ability to touch people. God bless him and his loved ones!

  10. Ginny Says:

    iI’ve only learned now of Barry’s passing and feel terrible! To show his kindness, I had written to him to tell him of an old KJL piece that had lost a stone. I was heartsick about it. He wrote back immediately, telling me precisely how to go about getting it repaired free of charge. I was so grateful! When it took a little longer than I had anticipated, he followed up and got back to me – again – immediately. I had it in my hands a short time after that. He was wonderful, committed to excellent standards, and – from his correspondence – a truly nice guy. May he always rest in peace.

Leave a comment