Ex-QVC Host Antonella Nester Diagnosed With Cancer

We’re sending good vibes, healing and light to former QVC host Antonella Nester. She’s facing some tough times.

We just watched a YouTube video where Nester says that she has been diagnosed with not only leukemia, but now also breast cancer. Her doctors say they are unrelated. But how would you like to get that double dose of bad news?

Nester, if you recall, was laid off by QVC abruptly last year, part of a group of employees swept out the door by the home shopping network. The pink slip was a shock to Nester.

We know the feeling. We had it roughly a decade go when we were laid off, for the first but not the only time in our career. It stinks.

We really have not been keeping up with Nester, but today we also watched a second video she had done. It turns out both she and her husband lost their jobs. And here’s a surprise: They couldn’t find other work. Nester said her husband unsuccessfully applied for 100 jobs. She suspects it’s age discrimination.

We don’t suspect it. We’d bet our life on it. Can’t tell you how may times we’ve seen it.

So she and her husband decided to retire, sell their house and live on a boat.

Now this cancer situation has happened.

Nester put up a brave front about the cancer, but admitted she’s scared. Of course.

All we can say is we wish her well and are praying hard for her. You should do the same.

Tags: , ,

26 Responses to “Ex-QVC Host Antonella Nester Diagnosed With Cancer”

  1. Lynne Hutchison Harlacher Says:

    So sorry to hear about Antonella……

  2. Connie Fifer Says:

    Will be praying for Antonella.

  3. Jerri Says:

    Sorry to hear this, and sending her blessings.

  4. Karen Harden Says:

    So sorry to hear this. And sometimes we think we have it bad!

  5. Gina Says:

    That’s so sad. I hope she gets cured and is well again. With what’s going on, though, should she really be living on a boat? How about something more stable.
    Best wishes and healing light to you, Antonella. Take care of yourself and heal.

    • Kim Says:

      I was thinking the same thing, Gina. They should be in an apartment or house. Especially in Winter… they’ll freeze. And she won’t be feeling good during treatment. I hope they can live in something on land, for her sake.
      And with that, I wish Antonella the best. I hope she recovers and is her old self again soon. Best wishes to her.

      • Lainie Says:

        @Gina
        @Kim
        I so agree about the boat. Health and comfort come first. I hope they have something on dry ground to go to.
        And my highest blessings to Antonella. She’s a great gal and I wish her a speedy and complete recovery.

  6. Lainie Says:

    @Gina
    @Kim
    I so agree about the boat. Health and comfort come first. I hope they have something on dry ground to go to.
    And my highest blessings to Antonella. She’s a great gal and I wish her a speedy and complete recovery.

  7. Karen Says:

    I have a feeling her and her husband are not sailing in the water. They might just be living on a boat docked at a marina. A lot of people do that.

    • Lainie Says:

      @Karen
      Hi. I just figured they were docked. Even so, it gets cold on boats. My late husband and I lived on a boat in Sausalito CA for a couple years. It’s an artists community, and many live on boats. That’s in the San Francisco Bay Area, where the climate is much milder than where Antonella is.
      The first winter was awful. We had heat, but the damp cold went right through you. We tried closing parts off, etc, but it was cold. The boat was sturdy and seemed to be weatherproof, but cold got in.
      The following summer, my husband passed away. When I was feeling better, I sold the boat and moved someplace warm.
      I think if one is not doing well, boat living is not a great idea. But, to each their own.

      • Janette Says:

        Lainie
        I just saw this. I’ve not been keeping up with home shopping for a bit. I feel badly for Antonella; I’ve always liked her.
        I hope they do have an apartment or something; boat life is rough. I’ve been to Sausalito visiting friends who lived on a boat there; it’s cold and you’re constantly in motion, rocking with the waves. They, too, sold their boat and moved to a condo on land.
        Anyway, I’m sending my best wishes for healing to Antonella, and great strength to her husband.

    • Lainie Says:

      @Karen
      The following post is by me; I mixed my email addresses up. Just so it will make sense that I responded to you.

  8. Carolyn Simpson Says:

    perhaps they own the boat and it is what they can afford.

  9. Pauline lachance Says:

    Get a fourth opinion it will count I did time to think clearly magic wand is on god bless pauline

  10. Linda (not homeshoppingnista) Says:

    Damn, I feel so bad for her. Losing her job and now cancer……

  11. Lola Says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. I am sending light and blessings to Antonella and her husband. That she heals, and that he finds work.
    Yes, age discrimination is very real and I have been a victim of it, too. I hope he stays strong and perseveres in his job hunt.
    As for Antonella, I hope she sought a second opinion. And, this is the time to fortify herself. Food is THE MOST anabolic thing we put in our bodies…MAKE IT COUNT. Lots of green veggies, cabbage family, orange and yellow veggies, and berries. A glass of hot water with 1/2 lemon in it early AM. All ok’d by doctor, of course. Lean protein, avoid sweets and bad fats. And of course, drink lots of water. This will put her body in the best possible state to fight this disease.
    My best to both of them.

    • Lainie Says:

      @Lola
      I’m glad someone thought of this. I really hope Antonella reads this blog. If there ever was a reason to “eat like your life depends on it”, this is it.
      The hot lemon water will cleanse her liver of chemicals and other unwanted debris. Hopefully she’s eating right.
      Best to you, Lola, for bringing this to the attention of readers and hopefully Antonella reads this.

  12. Lainie Says:

    Off the topic, but…..
    Watching HSN last night, Diane Gilman. Her TS was a “fitted” jacket….a shapeless, flimsy rag. Not a fan of her, but was watching just because.
    Last time she was on, I saw her yell at the models and the camera crew. She’s still mean; one would think she’d be grateful to have her health back. Anyway, shapeless, boxy, ugly clothes…
    Marla Wynne preview prompted an online look. Again, boxy, shapeless….is SpongeBob Squarepants the fit model for Diane and Marla?!? I adore SpongeBob, but he’s not my shape! And DG especially…huge prices for cheap quality. And Marla’s stuff is marginally better.
    I was not there to shop, but was really disappointed in their offerings. For the money, I could do much better at Nordstrom etc. And for half or less the money, at Zara or H&M. And what’s with Marla, anyway? The polar opposite of Diane, she twirls and giggles and all but makes an a_ _ of herself.
    Now tonight I’m going to dream that SpongeBob is wearing Jessica Rabbit’s dress and chasing me!! 😬😡😱😲

    • Elisa Says:

      Lainie
      First, I send prayers to Antonella. I feel so badly for her πŸ’”
      As for SpongeBob, he may not be YOUR shape, but he is a good match for Diane and Marla. I see Marla still has some cubes at Chico’s, too πŸ˜‚. I don’t get why they favor those shapeless clothes. A few are ok…..but they’ve really gone overboard.
      And SpongeBob would never get into Jessica’s slinky red gown…so your dreams are safe.

    • Cleo Says:

      Lainie
      I saw DG and MW, too…..they both seem to mostly favor boxy, shapeless silhouettes. At least DG’s used to have more shape. And a glance at her today’s special jacket online did indeed show how flimsy it is. Friends who buy her jeans have been complaining about the cheap feeling material.
      It seems like most of HSN’s fashions are cheaply made. I’ve tried a few of Colleen’s clothes; all got sent back. Irregular sizing, tiny armholes, cheap thin/itchy/pilling/unfinished seams on everything. All at a premium price.
      I don’t buy clothes on home shopping anymore. It seems like the quality has gone way down, and the price way up. And it costs a fortune to return things.

  13. Linda Paccione Zapantis Soilis Says:

    Prayers for Antonella and family healing prayers Antonella ,miss seeing your smiling face

  14. Irma Says:

    It looks like Antonella’s lymph nodes are clear, which is good news. YouTube skips around on my computer and I try to avoid it, so any additional input is welcome. I just went by her Facebook post. Hopefully she’ll be on the mend soon. I wish her the best.

  15. Deborahanne Teresa OHara Says:

    LOVE YOU ANTONELLA! YOU KICK CANCER’S ASS!!!!!! YOU’RE TOO GOOD GO GO THROUGH THIS. AND THAT GOURGEOUS HOUSE OF YOURS, MADON!!!!! πŸ’– I’LL BE WATCHING YOU AND PRAYING FOR YOU ON YOUTUBE PAISON!!!πŸ’– πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—. 😍😍😍. 🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹

Leave a comment