New York Times Puff Profiles QVC ‘Storyteller’ Shawn Killinger

Oh boy.

We know that QVC host Shawn Killinger has a lot of detractors, but we feel rather neutral about her. That’s probably because we don’t watch her that often — we avoid QVC segments on clothing and beauty products like the plague. And she often does them.

Jewelry is our addiction.

But that said, it was quite a puff piece that The Sunday New York Times did yesterday on Killinger.

Here is the link, but we can’t give you access because we don’thave a digitial sub to the Times.

The headline is here for you to see.

Her analysis of her appeal on QVC doesn’t mesh with that we know, but what do we know?

“The big secret is that I don’t sell. I’m not a salesperson. I’m a storyteller.”

That’s what Killinger told the Times. Again, we don’t feel strongly about her either way. But all home shopping hosts are sales people. Duh.

The author loves her, BTW.

“She doesn’t go for the hard pitch … Her style is mac-and-cheese comforting,” he wrote.

There are a number of gems in the story from Killinger.

“When you’re watching, I want you to love that story about my husband manscaping because I want you to be my friend.”

Does “manscaping” mean what we think it does?

How about this?

“I think I just tinkled when I laughed.”

Tags: , ,

33 Responses to “New York Times Puff Profiles QVC ‘Storyteller’ Shawn Killinger”

  1. Dl Says:

    Didn’t the NY Timez have anything else to report. I never watch her she is clueless about everything. I watch QVC less and less

  2. Gina M Cross Says:

    Just what Shawn needs – another fluffing of her ego. Shawn put the “T” in “TMI”! She is basically a raunchier version of Jane T!

  3. David A. Says:

    If you check the journalist’s other NYT articles, he seems to write mainly about horror films and gay events. He’s apparently branching out.

  4. Tommie Ray Says:

    She and Courtney Kundave are very strange.

    Tommie

  5. Cheryl Says:

    Wow, has it been 17 years already? Time flies. As a long time QVC viewer (not so much anymore), Shawn might want to be careful about that “You donโ€™t need to buy anything. Just tune me in.โ€ I can recall other hosts with the same comment that have long since been laid off. Sales matter. Shawn fibs just like all the other hosts; one day she adores Tweak’d haircare, the next day says Wen is all she uses (I guess she signed the Wen contract.)
    I remember the moon discussion with Isaac. I also recall Shawn’s appearance on Martha Stewart’s Apprentice. Shawn said “fake it till you make it,” which Martha found a little distasteful and let Shawn go.
    I did enjoy the “naughty and nice” shows with Rick D.

  6. Jerri Says:

    Ms Moss,
    Manscaping is the male gender equivalent to female bikini waxing, etc. Great topic for home shopping, no?
    I think the NY Times has run out of material to write about; at least out of material not found in the trash can. Macaroni and cheese comforting? ๐Ÿคฎ Please.

  7. Gwen Says:

    I am just glad she is wearing colored lipstick now. That nude lip she had for a while was not a good look on her.

  8. Deanna Says:

    I don’t watch much QVC, and lately their hosts are goofy, silly, and too much. The thing I don’t care for about Shawn is the TMI thing. “I started to tinkle when I laughed”? Who wants to know and who cares? But she is just part of the goofy antics that made me turn off QVC for (pretty much) good.
    And the NY Times has reached a new low. There MUST be something other than home shopping hosts to write about. Surely there are more LGBTQ events and horror films to feature, if those are his main subjects.

  9. Jerri Says:

    I see Amy M has a new style show on HSN tonight. Marlo has a new show, too. Hopefully she is doing better; she wasn’t herself around Christmas time. Looks like HSN is grasping at straws. There really isn’t much of a variety of items to showcase. Most of these shows fizzle out soon. I wish Amy and Marlo good luck.

    It’s COLD here; we’ve been staying inside. It looks like Tucson may get snow on Sunday. If so, we’ll probably get a little, too. It will be a good weekend to watch movies. Have a good weekend, everyone.

    • Ella Says:

      Jerri
      I’ve been watching Marlo’s show. Liz Folce is on now, and Marlo isn’t making sense…. drifting away…. and Liz is trying to snap her out of it. So it looks like she still has whatever was plaguing her before Christmas. Too many meds? Not enough meds? She doesn’t seem stable. Hopefully TPTB will see this and urge her to get help if they haven’t already.
      So Winter has come to your valley…. stay warm. We still have below freezing night temperatures. We bought a few boxes of presto logs to give the heater a little help. Wood is too expensive this year. Anyway, have a good weekend.

    • Lainie Says:

      @Jerri,
      @Ella

      I watched some of the hour with Liz. Is Marlo smoking happy plants? Is she drunk? Or the over/under medicated thing? She had some time off; I guess she didn’t fix the problem then. It’s as though she’s had a concussion or something. I hope she’s ok.

      The flood threat is gone but still high winds. Luckily no power outages so far. ๐Ÿ˜ป and I just had dinner. Now we’re going to the bedroom and get under the warm covers and watch TV. My Giuliana lounge sets are getting lots of wear. This will be the last winter for a couple of them. I live in them when it’s cold. Have a great Sunday, all. One thing she did well!

      • Deanna Says:

        Marlo was loopy as all get out. Something is way off. Please see a doctor, Marlo. I hope she’ll be alright.
        FYI, if you like Nakery, Liz has her own website. I’m thinking of trying the cream with retinol. Her products are clean…. maybe worth a try. Not from HSN, though.
        Stay warm, guys, it’s a chilly week coming up.

  10. Lainie Says:

    Watching Diane Gilman, with Bobbi on HSN. Some of the clothes look ok. Like Bobbi’s green sweater. But $55 for a little sweater?! The cost of these fast fashions is going up, up, up. And the quality, well, that’s going out the door.
    I have noticed, in my infrequent viewing, that HSN changes models a lot. New ones all the time. I know they get days off, etc, but there’s a huge turnover. I don’t watch QVC or HQ enough to notice. But I remember when HSN had a set group of models. One would leave occasionally and get replaced, but they had the same core group. Not anymore. You’ll see different faces very often now. Makes me wonder if HSN is a hard place to work for.
    And please, let’s NOT have the models talk. Clothing, skin and hair care, as well as jewelry. We know they’re only going to say positive things about whatever they’re modeling. Say hi to them and get on with the show. Colleen started that BS. It’s not enough that she yammers on; she encourages the models to do it, too. Let the vendor and the host do the talking. That’s their job. And for Pete’s sake, can the models please TURN AROUND AND SHOW THE BACK OF THE GARMENTS?! They do a fast half turn and you never really see it most of the time. Let the viewers see all sides of the garments, if you want to sell that dreck.
    All of my decorations are down… lights included. I have some flameless candles for extra glow on dark days. I took it down on Wednesday and Thursday. The house feels bare. But it’s nice to have things back to normal. I’m getting calls for work, so soon I’ll be making a little extra $. Every bit helps, with the cost of living going up all the time. Hopefully this will be a good week for all.

    • Judy Says:

      First, in response to the post…..it looks like the NY Times is getting desperate. Talking about tinkling in her pants, and her husband manscaping….next it will be how many bowel movements she has per day. She’s over the top TMI. If she’d stop that, she’d be ok.

      Lainie
      I’ve noticed the revolving door models, too. Seems you’ll see 1 regular here and there and everyone is new. And it definitely tells me HSN is hard to work for. They never had new models all the time back in the day.
      I agree, stop conversing with the models. And YES, please have them turn around SLOWLY AND SHOW THE SIDES AND BACK OF THE GARMENT. It’s not a one dimensional garment!
      I’m glad our decorations are down, too. It was a fast year, a fast holiday season, now we’re ready to start all over again. Good that you’re getting work, Lainie. Bf is going to do some very part time work at a garage his friend works at. He (bf) has some specialized knowledge they need occasionally. It won’t interfere with his retirement income, but will give us some extra $ to work with each month.
      Tonight Tom is coming to dinner, then we’re going to play cards. I took a walk earlier, it felt good to get out. It’s been threatening rain most of the day, I think I hear it now. If we get tired of cards, we’ll watch a movie. Too cold out after dark, and rain for tonight. I hope 2024 brings us a lower cost of living, and globally, the end of these wars.

  11. Jerri Says:

    HSN is more boring today than watching paint dry. Lessman, and various junk products. I like Andrew Lessman, and I use some of his vitamins. I buy off his website. And the vitamins I buy from him are pretty much all I’m going to buy. I check out his website, and sometimes watch HSN to see if he comes out with something I might need. But not today.
    The models are going through that revolving door. I’ve never seen such a turnover. Of course HSN is hard to work for; everyone there is working under fear of being fired. As well as QVC. All shopping channels, I’m sure. We’ve known that for awhile.
    Rain has been cancelled but it’s gloomy and cold with a freeze warning. But rain and a hard freeze warning for Tucson. They’ll probably get snow. They’re at 2600 feet elevation; we’re at 1000 feet. Makes a difference. But generally, the weather is similar.
    Mr is making beef ribs in the oven, I’m going to make pasta with pesto and a salad. So off I go. Have a good week.

  12. Deanna Says:

    This morning I had HSN on the Tina show. I rarely watch it and it’s been awhile. Tina really looked rough. Huge dark circles, more lines in her face…. I’m NOT making fun; I’m concerned. She’s not a fave for sure, but I always wish people well. Either she’s exhausted from the holidays…. or something. We have Marlo babbling and acting weird; now Tina looks like she’s been through the wringer. I hope both are ok and these changes are temporary.
    And BTW, WHERE is Rhonda Shear? From what I’ve seen, it’s been months since she’s been on. The OAP does a great job; just wondering if Rhonda is ok. Life is hard; I hope everyone is doing ok.

    • Lainie Says:

      @Deanna
      Good questions, both of them. I’ve noticed Tina looking a little weary the past month or so. I figured either holiday stress, or she went past the time for her fillers. Or maybe she’s decided not to do them anymore. Also not snarking; just a guess. As for Rhonda, it’s been a long time now. I don’t have the sound on usually, so I haven’t heard any comments, but her vendor has replaced her for months. Hopefully she’s ok, too. Marlo is so changed that they’re talking about her on other forums; especially the HSN forum. Again, I hope all 3 are ok.
      For today, it’s Marla Wynne and Denise Austen. No thank you; I can watch the dew dry on the grass ๐Ÿ™„. I watched a little of Origami with Guy, and the corner shelf is a good idea. The price, $190, not so much.
      The nights have been really cold here, just above freezing. My heating bill will not be fun but we need to keep warm. Luckily the house is well insulated and holds the temperature pretty steadily. Mary has been coming over to work out; we’ve kept it indoors and use the treadmill instead of walking outside. Too cold.

      • Ella Says:

        Lainie
        I liked the Origami corner shelf, too. It would actually work very well in my kitchen. But $190… almost $200?! Bet I can find same quality cheaper elsewhere. And I don’t NEED it; it would just make things more convenient.
        I don’t watch Tina enough to notice a change, but holiday stress is my guess. Marlo seems to be over medicated, and Rhonda is MIA. I hope they’re all ok and getting back to normal. These are trying times, for sure. I guess I’ll go put another Presto log on the fire. Below freezing tonight.

  13. Jerri Says:

    Tina has had deeper nasal-labial lines since she made her debut on HSN. At her (young) age, it’s genetic. But the dark circles are recent. It looks like she’s taking a little time off. Hopefully she’ll get some rest and feel better. I have dark circles naturally (asthma). But when I’m tired or stressed, they get worse. Good skin care and rest are the best Rx.

  14. Judy Says:

    Today is fashion day on HSN. I say that with a pound of salt. They are showing Giuliana pleather jog pants…. a bad idea for anyone, including the average model in skin tight ones, and the plus model in good fitting but totally non flattering ones. My 5’9″ Olive Oyl body would look like crap in those. What was the point?
    A trip for weekly groceries on Tuesday showed they’ve gone up AGAIN. Bread and water, pretty soon. And unless you want crap bread, that’s $5 or $6. Something must be done. It’s hurting us and we are doing ok. We donate to the food bank, but not as much as we used to. And the rents……. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ.
    Anyway, we’re heading into the weekend. Bf works 1/2 day today and tomorrow. And I’m about to get laundry done. Have a good one, all!

  15. Ella Says:

    I was just reading the HSN forum. A person on there was saying Marlo had breast cancer. This was in response to Marlo’s recent strange behavior. I’m pretty sure they have her mixed up with Amy M, who has had it twice and seems to be well now, thank goodness. I don’t hang on every word that’s been said about or by HSN, but I’m pretty sure I would have heard of that if it were true. People need to get their facts straight. Some of them on that forum are way out to lunch.
    Anyway, Marlo is on tonight. I’m probably not going to watch, but I thought I’d mention it. Hopefully she’s back on track. Have a good weekend, bloggers!

    • Lainie Says:

      @Ella
      I’m pretty sure Marlo didn’t have breast cancer. If anyone knows she did for sure, please correct me. There are some low oxygen people on that forum, as well as sharp ones. And I’m glad Amy is healthy, after all she’s been through.
      Against my own better judgement, I watched a few minutes of Finally Friday with Marlo, and she still seems off. She was going over Patricia Nash bags, and Faith, the OAP, was looking a little baffled. Marlo acts like she’s high. I wonder how long they’ll let her be on air like that? Hope she’s ok. But she isn’t hosting very well.
      My friend will be back, for good, on the 27th. He’s glad to be leaving Vegas. It had some good points, but all in all it wasn’t his cup of tea. He did his job and got a business up and running, and was well compensated for it. I’m glad he’ll be back, too.
      ๐Ÿ˜ป and I are going to take some snacks into the bedroom and watch TV where it’s warmer. Something funny and entertaining should give us good dreams. Goodnight all and have a great weekend.

      • Deanna Says:

        Lainie,
        I saw part of that Friday show. Marlo was stroking one of the bags repetitiously, like you’d stroke a pet on your lap. Faith did look a bit puzzled. And there was some unnecessary repetition on Marlo’s part about the boots. Frankly, she does act like she’s high. I think HSN needs to give her some time off so she can fix whatever is wrong. She’s really in no shape to be on air. Also, I’m pretty sure Marlo hasn’t had breast cancer… and I agree, if someone knows for sure she has, please enlighten us. I do hope Amy is cancer free for good. BTW, I love her hair style.

  16. Cheryl Says:

    I remember a fashion segment on QVC several years ago, when the model turned sideways and we could see a large binder clip on the back of her dress to make it fit better. That’s why the models don’t turn around and show you the back.

    • Judy Says:

      Cheryl
      Thanks for that interesting tidbit. Although I’m not surprised, it seems really low brow. Even for home shopping. And it explains why I’ve noticed lately on HSN, sometimes the models seem stuck in front view only. Sheesh. Glad you posted that, now we can stop yammering about the models not turning around.

    • Lainie Says:

      @Cheryl
      I wondered if the front view only was because of something like that, but then I thought no, not for home shopping. Well, they did it for home shopping. And why should I care if they turn, anyway? I’m not buying from them anymore. Thanks for the information.

      Goat boys on HSN today; not even tuning in. It’s sunny out with periods of clouds; cool but not freezing. My friend Mary and I are going for a long walk around the community. I’m getting cabin fever. Later, Mary will join my sis, sis’ bf, and I for dinner at my place. Should round the weekend out nicely.

  17. Barbara Says:

    Great info on the models, Cheryl. Why don’t they just put them in the right size? Talk about cutting corners.
    I started watching HSN late in 1998. I believe Marlo started in 1997. I watched quite regularly, with the exception of a couple lapses in the last 5 years or so. I don’t remember her having breast cancer. I do know Amy M has fought it twice. I agree, hopefully she’s cancer free for good. Anyway, Marlo needs to deal with whatever is making her act high.

    With so many businesses going under, you’d think these channels would listen to their customers and try to keep them, instead of reaching for younger viewers. Those people aren’t interested in home shopping. That medium is inconvenient for them, for their habits, budgets, and schedules. That youth pitch started with Mindy Grossman on HSN. Stop with trendy, tiktok, and other things that don’t work on home shopping. Go back 24+ years, and give people new items, good values, and practical as well as fun things.

    Anyway, the future looks pretty dim for all the shopping channels. And the host and vendor shuffle is impossible to keep up with. I hope this year brings positive changes in everything.

  18. Cheri Says:

    Shawn would be much better without TMI. And I don’t think any shopping channel hosts should’ve interviewed for publications. Coleen Lopez let us all know what she thought of us in a major fashion publication interview around 2006… “Oh, my audience will buy anything from me. I could put rocks in a paper bag and they’d buy them.” Uh, not me, you insipid oaf!
    I also do not recall mention of Marlo having breast cancer. Let me know if I missed something. I really felt badly for Amy. I’m so glad she’s doing well. I think her son and husband are so sweet.
    My younger sister shopped up a storm at HSN. She had more boxes than a cardboard factory! I did my share, but she went far past me. She had Adrienne’s stuff, Dimitri’s (Parthena) Dr. Graf, Jerome Alexander, Marilyn Miglin, makeup, more skin care, clothing, vacuums, cookware, tableware……you name it, she had it. She was a realtor, and after she paid her bills, she BOUGHT. Also darn near everything Suzanne Somers sold on there. She was single, but always had a boyfriend. Now she lives in a small apartment and won’t have anything to do with home shopping, for all the reasons everyone talks about. She’s saving money, surely.
    I stopped buying after Qurate took HSN over. And slowed way down under Mindy Grossman’s leadership. Everyone was making fun of her movie themed shows, and her desperate try to make HSN more youthful.
    Anyway, here’s to a new beginning, may 2024 bring us all good things.

  19. Jerri Says:

    Tomorrow we remember a great man who fought for peace, freedom, and equality. May your soul rest in power, Dr. King.

    And today HSN was ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ๐Ÿ. No, I didn’t watch.
    I’m glad Amy is well, and I hope she is cured for good. She has a lovely family and much to look forward to with them.
    Goodnight, everyone.

  20. Ella Says:

    On Saturday I went to Little Town to look around at TJ Maxx, etc. It’s getting to be time for new towels, and I’m hoping for good ones at sale prices. Anyway, there was a woman in there wearing a Story book knits sweater. I’d forgotten about that line. I had 2 of them that I bought in 2000, and I finally wore them out about 10 years ago. I think Jamie Gries changed the line several times then she was gone from HSN. I looked her up; she’s in New York, but no real info about her.
    Anyway, Story look was a fun, whimsical line but other than someone working with children, it was a bit too kitschy to wear frequently. Much like Quacker Factory. My sweaters were more somber, if you will, having flowers and leaves on them. They were well made, and warm, so were great for chilly days. Anyway, a nice HSN memory.
    I was home from school, helping my mom do laundry when the news came on TV that Dr King had been killed. Mom and I just sat down and cried. I was 17. We lost a great man that day. I’m glad we honor him, now, on his birthday .

  21. Lainie Says:

    Jambu footwear today, on HSN. Ugly and not very comfortable. 2 pairs were tossed out when my sister moved here, lol! She learned her lesson. And why is the list 3 hours? Didn’t it use to be 2? I looked at last month, as far back as the program guide goes, and it’s been 3 hours for awhile. I guess I just overlooked that. I don’t watch it anymore, except for a few minutes or so.
    Doll 10 is celebrating 5 years on HSN. That flew by quickly! Her makeup is clean, and mostly organic, so it gives people a healthy option. Although I like her, I wouldn’t use Adrienne’s stuff, even if the only alternative was going bare faced. I think Paul Nassif, MD is clean, and maybe 1 or 2 others; that’s it. I’m disappointed that Dimitri’s stuff is no longer clean. And the prices!!! On all of it.
    Today is chilly and gloomy, and I need a little cheering up. I invited Mary over for Chinese and her ๐Ÿ˜ป for a playdate with Tom ๐Ÿ˜ป. My sis is back in L.A. for the weekend, and it’s kind of blah around here. Next week, I have some work, so that should keep me focused. My friend comes back in about a week, so I look forward to that. After dinner, Tom and I will watch SpongeBob and a funny movie or other funny stuff.

    • Deanna Says:

      Lainie, I do believe the list used to be 2 hours, not 3. 2 is bad enough, IMO. I’m glad your friend is coming back soon.
      Last night, I watched some of the first hour of Finally Friday with Marlo…….. well, things aren’t any better. She was showing a shoulder support bra, and kept touching her own boobs. Not obscenely, but she kept doing it, and lifting them up. And petting the bras on the table. Show what you’re trying to show on the mannequin, instead of man handling yourself ๐Ÿคฆโ€โ™€๏ธ. I had it on mute, so I didn’t hear her but you could tell she was jabbering away. I do feel sorry for her but she’s become the the example for high host. And 3 hours of her is more than I can bear. HSN needs to nip this show in the bud and put Marlo in rehab, even if she says “no, no, no”.

  22. Judy Says:

    I was just on the HSN forum, and people are giving big thumbs down to HSN fashion and jewelry, especially Colleen’s. About how badly things are made, etc. People notice, shopping channels. And Deanna, I saw some of the train wreck Friday show. Marlo needs help. It’s ridiculous to watch. 3 hours of that crap is just like the list, which I do believe use to be 2 hours. A drugged up host selling a mish mash of ๐Ÿ’ฉ products? Why?
    I took the sheets to the cat shelter soon after I posted about them. With the cold weather, they’ll be helpful. They pilled like crazy. The blankets seem to be ok. Time will tell.

Leave a comment