Designer of HSN’s Roberto By RFM Jewelry Line Dies of Cancer At Age 48

With all the horrors going on right now, we have to report some more sad and bad news from the home shopping world. HSN jewelry vendor Roberto Faraone Mennella died Thursday at age 48 of cancer.

The name may not be immediately familiar to you, but Mennella was the partner of Amedeo Scognamiglio. Amedeo was perhaps best known on HSN for the gorgeous, and very reasonably priced cameo jewelry, he brought to the home shopping channel. His family had been involved in cameo making.

But Amedeo and Roberto, both Italians, also appeared on HSN selling a line of very beautifully designed, fluid sterling silver jewelry on the channel. That line was called Roberto by RFM.

Roberto was incredibly handsome, charming and obviously talented. Amedeo is very outgoing, gregarious and funny.

According to an obituary in WWD, the two men were former boyfriends and current business partners. We never knew this, but apparently they were featured in the show “Sex And The City” when stylist Patricia Field learned about them.

https://wwd.com/eye/people/jewelry-designer-roberto-faraone-mennella-dies-at-1203646874/

The WWD obit also mentioned that the two designers sold their pieces on HSN in the United States and QVC Internationally.

So sorry to hear this news.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Designer of HSN’s Roberto By RFM Jewelry Line Dies of Cancer At Age 48”

  1. pasha2k Says:

    Beautiful jewelry, and tragic death.

  2. Jerri Says:

    How sad. I remember him with Amadeo on some HSN presentations. And I have some of Amadeo’s beautiful jewelry.
    My deepest condolences, Amadeo, and to Roberto’s father as well. My family hails from the Amalfi coast as well. A beautiful place to work and heal.

  3. Gina Says:

    I have some of his jewelry as well as Amadeo’s. This is such sad news. And my deepest sympathy goes to Amadeo, and of course, Roberto’s father. He was so young. May he rest in peace.

  4. Reanie Says:

    Oh no! This is sad news and so young! I remember him on HSN and even have a few pieces of his. I have the interchangeable hoop earrings he designed for his mother. He then sold the earrings in fashion jewelry on HSN. Both were so pleasant to watch and handsome too!

  5. Shari Says:

    Such a horrible loss. A young, talented, gracious man. I will treasure his jewelry, as well as Amadeo’s.
    May he rest in power. Love and light to those close to him.

  6. Rosemary Says:

    This breaks my heart. My deepest sympathy to Amadeo, and Roberto’s family and friends.
    I have and enjoy many pieces of both your jewelry. Amadeo, I can’t go out wearing one of your cameos that someone doesn’t compliment me on it. The world of art and jewelry have suffered a loss. Rest in peace, dear Roberto.

  7. Claudia Says:

    I just ran across this now, catching up with the Homeshoppingista’s blogs.
    I’m so sorry to hear this πŸ’”. He was so young 😒. A talented, wonderful man. All my prayers and love to those close to him. I will treasure his jewelry forever. Love to Amadeo, too. I love your jewelry as well.

Leave a comment