Literally Breaking The Mold On QVC Jackie Kennedy Jewelry Line

Say goodbye to the Jacqueline Kennedy Collection on QVC. And here is the the $64,000 Question: Did Caroline Kennedy put the final kibosh on the fashion jewelry line?

The line of reproductions of Kennedy’s jewelry, a popular staple on the home shopping network for a decade, is permanently retiring. On Saturday the line’s guru, Kennedy historian Phil Katz, did several shows talking about the collection and selling its remaining inventory. Fans of the jewelry were heartbroken.

Say goodbye to Jackie Kennedy's jewelry on QVC

Say goodbye to Jackie Kennedy’s jewelry on QVC

We missed the Jackie jewelry show Saturday night (we were at Mass), but BFF Ann saw it and told us that Katz, in a rather sad ceremony, was using a hammer to smash molds for the pieces on-air. After destroying each mold, Katz would say, “This is retiring, never to be made again.”

“I’s so sorry to see the line is going,” one viewer from Massachusetts, Kennedy Camelot, lamented.

http://www.qvc.com/Jacqueline-Kennedy-Jewelry.category.1001.html?metaeSpot=Home|Home&refine=1046658+4294965937

On QVC.com and his own company’s own website, Katz wrote a send-off the the collection.

http://jackiesjewelry.com/

Here is part of it:

From the start, we always knew that the pieces would be limited in availability and duration. Due to your amazing support and loyalty, we’ve enjoyed extending the timeline far beyond our original intentions.

Now we feel it’s time to bring this fabulous chapter to a close. We’ve rendered all the pieces in her collection that are currently available to us, and we’ll continue to offer the line only as long as inventory exists.

We wrote a blog about a brouhaha over QVC selling the Jackie jewelry reproductions back in August, sparked by a New York Post gossip item. Our headline was “Is QVC’s Jackie O Jewelry Line ‘Tacky,’ ‘Sleazy’ And ‘A Ripoff’?”

Is QVC’s Jackie O Jewelry Line ‘Tacky,’ ‘Sleazy’ And ‘A Ripoff’?

The Post’s Page Six, in a real hatchet job, said that Caroline Kennedy was upset about QVC’s Kennedy jewelry line, which was manufactured by Camrose & Kross of Boonton, N.J. (Go Jersey!)

Caroline had apparently made the manufacturer put a disclaimer on its website saying that neither the Kennedy family nor the John F. Kennedy Library endorsed or were associated with the venture.

Page Six described the QVC Jackie jewelry as “tacky” and “sleazy,” adding that the First Lady “would not be caught dead in ‘gold tone’ jewelry.”

We — and many of our readers — thought Page Six was full of crap. One, Katz respectfully and informatively would tell QVC viewers the history of each Jackie jewelry piece he sold. He would explain where she got the necklace or bracelet or pin, and show photos of her wearing it.

As for “gold tone jewelry,” our bright readers told us that Jacki often wore costume jewelry, despite the snide and misinformed comment in Page Six.

Here is one poster said just today.

The original, famous paperclip necklace owned by Jacqueline Kennedy, created by Coco Chanel was not made in a precious metal. It was fashion jewelry, it’s color is based on the gold jewelry worn in Europe during the era in which it was made.

Therefore to say the necklace is tacky or cheap is calling the original piece owned by the first lady and her taste in jewelry tacky and that is incredibly disrespectful. By the way many of Mrs. Kennedys ‘ pieces were fashion jewelry. That is a fact that is easy to look up..

We can’t help but wonder if Caroline, and/or her family, were responsible for the demise of the Jacqueline Kennedy Collection.

QVC shoppers were sorry to hear it was the end of the line, too, and said as much on Camrose & Kross’s Facebook page.

“Very sorry to hear this,” one wrote. “I have purchased several pieces from the collection over the years and had looked forward to seeing more. I treasure my crystal cross, my Russian Cross and Mr. Katz’s stories that went with them, as well as my watch, my bracelet and my necklaces. Jackie Kennedy was a woman of intelligence, quality and substance, as well as excellent taste, and I am happy to have these mementos of her and her time.”

Another posted, “I will miss Phil Katz and these shows. I have thoroughly enjoyed not only the beautiful jewelry but Phil’s delightful history & stories. I hope Camrose & Kross continues to make jewelry of the same high quality.”

Yet another wrote, “I am so sad… the collection could have continued with the same pieces though! I will miss this show, one of the reasons I watch QVC.”

Katz was a class act, and we hope he will be back on QVC with another line. There was some talk about an Audrey Hepburn collection somewhere down the road. We hope it’s true.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Literally Breaking The Mold On QVC Jackie Kennedy Jewelry Line”

  1. SUSAN Says:

    Another unique vendor bites the dust. I hope Camrose and Kross come back with more unique jewelry.

    It seems all that’s left at QVC is their stale lineup of Dyson, Vitamix, Temptations, Keurig, KitchenAid, Graver, Logo, Woman With Control and beauty products. And for “new
    vendors they add a Travel Agency and AARP! (go figure) I Watch and buy less from QVC these days. .

  2. Peggy Says:

    It’s my understanding that Caroline was upset with the line simply because she wasn’t getting any money from it. Another write-up in the Post said she’s greedy. She auctioned off all her mother’s “stuff,” saying part of the proceeds would go to charity, but neither she or her brother ever said what, if anything, went to charity.

  3. Queen Celeste Says:

    I still find something odd in all this, as I distinctly remember when the collection debuted on HSN Mr. Katz stating that they had the authorization of the family, and I assumed that implied they received a cut of the profits. Hard to imagine Surely there would have been a legal to and fro if “the family” had not approved it. I think you’re right about Audrey Hepburn, as he talked about her yesterday, and I think I read in Vanity Fair about an upcoming jewelry collection. He also hinted at a JK show in June, though maybe he was referring to a new collection. We shall see!

  4. Queen Celeste Says:

    Whoops, meant to say, hard to imagine not getting the approval and or blessing of the family before manufacturing.

  5. Mark Says:

    Rumor has it Phil Katz will be back for an Audrey Hepburn line…

  6. hydrafoil Says:

    QVC HAS gotten stale, to say the least. Temptations is a nice line, but after the 30th time one sees it…. ho-hum. Phil Katz brought a class element to QVC, amongst all it’s jewelry shows, he was a real gem, as was the Kennedy collection. I also think it’s a sorry send off to have the final show from 1 AM to 3 AM….. shame on QVC.

  7. Terrie Says:

    I cannot believe that Camrose and Kross did not have the permission of the family to reproduce the Jacqueline Kennedy Jewelry line. Come on———–after sixteen years!!!!!!!!!!!! And how did Camrose and Kross make the molds to this jewelry if they did not get the permission from the family to cast the originals? I believe that Caroline Kennedy did not think that we the shoppers would become so loyal to the line. Camrose and Kross were making a fortune with this line because we loved the jewelry, the stories and the pictures behind the JBK line. If the line was gaudy and cheap, why was our First Lady wearing the very pieces reproduced. Phil Katz was one class act in his presentation and respect for the jewelry. Even when the molds were being smashed, Phil Katz would handle the molds with white gloves because of the respect and reverence Camrose and Cross had for our First Lady’s reproductions. If Camrose and Kross are coming out with an Audrey Hepburn line of jewelry, I can tell you that I will be front and center to purchase her jewelry reproductions. Audrey Hepburn’s jewelry in the movies were along the same line as the JBK jewelry. And a final note, I own over 105 pieces of the JBK line and I don’t find it tacky or cheap. I get compliments all the time because the JBK jewelry would stand out. I only wish the Camrose and Kross would put out a book on each piece of jewelry and the history and picture of each piece of jewelry. I would buy 2 copies of that book. I have most of the stories on the pieces, but I don’t really have a lot of the stories about a lot of the pieces I purchased in the beginning.

  8. Mary Rose Gilmore Says:

    I wish that the loss of this treasure is just a bad dream. Perhaps a miracle will happen & we can enjoy it again

  9. Carmen Says:

    The Kennedy collection items I bought got tarnished right away, and the lion chain even broke. I contacted the manufacturer to have the items replaced or repaired, and I was unsuccessful. Lucia from Camrose and Kross stated they do not have any items left to replace with, that she doesn’t know if it can be fixed, that the computer system is down and she cannot access the information, she asked me for receipts. I told her that while most of the items I bought were from QVC, this particular item was purchased directly from Camrose and Kross, and that they should have the history in their system. After responding with a complete negative attitude and any obstacle she could think of, Lucia said she will have to call me back. She refused to give me an address where I can send back the discolored, broken necklace. Considering the way the manufacturer refuses to honor the warranty, which was a major selling point too, I can sense a class action lawsuit coming.

    • Louise Says:

      I’m sorry to hear this. I watched Phil on HSN, and got my pieces there. They look new and most are 16+ years old! I believe the pieces he sold on HSN were of better quality.
      All in all, sorry to say goodbye to a classic line. The big 3 shopping networks are becoming cheap and gentrified.

  10. Nicky Says:

    Does anyone know the name of the necklace or set of jewelry that
    had belonged to an aunt of JBK? I think the story goes that Jackie
    had admired/played with the necklace as a girl, and the aunt presented it to her as a gift when she married or became First Lady.

  11. m wagar Says:

    Would love to see more of the jewelry of Hollywoods golden years stars. It made qvc and hsn show so much better. I have enjoyed all of jewelry i have.

Leave a comment