Host Nancy Hornback Exits QVC

This one kind of hurts.

We’ve always enjoyed watching QVC host Nancy Hornback. She was informative, not pushy, a pleasure. Now she’s gone.

One of our readers had mentioned that Hornback was no longer on the No. 1 home shopping network. We checked it out on Hornback’s Facebook page, and our reader was right.

“Hi Beautiful Friends!” Hornback posted last week. “I’m so glad QVC brought us together! As my life takes me on a new road, I hope you’ll join me on the journey – you can continue to follow my next adventures on social media…Facebook: Nancy Hornback Instagram: @nancyhornbackq.”

There was a huge outpouring of support for her.

“How stupid is QVC?” one person posted. “The early morning slots they put her on is ridiculous! Not everyone is up that early to shop and plus we are all at work at that time of the day. She is a very talented lady.”

“This company is losing its ever lovin mind,” wrote another. “About done with high prices, poor quality and bad judgment.”

Even JTV host Kristen Keech chimed in.

“I love you Nancy!!!!” she wrote. “I’ll be so interested to see where you are going and what you are doing!”

And another Hornback fan wrote, “Best of EVERYTHING to you! I will miss u! I can’t believe how many of the best host are leaving! I miss Antonella too! I hope this was your choice & not the Q, bcz I’m beginning to be put off by them for all of the experienced loyal FUN HOST, leaving. Got to be honest, I have been watching a lot less after they let Antonella go! How disloyal of QVC!”

Ditto all of the above.

She hasn’t been scrubbed from QVC.com yet, though.

Here’s her bio:

“Inspiring, sweet & fun, this gemstone lover is a GIA Graduate Gemologist. At work, she adores her Q family (that includes you and those she works alongside, both on & off air). At home, she’s all about DIY projects, working in the yard, caring for her elderly cat, getting her daughter to a flurry of activities, and making time for date nights with her husband.”

Tags: ,

19 Responses to “Host Nancy Hornback Exits QVC”

  1. wileyanddemi Says:

    I don’t get it! QVC keeps that unwatchable slob Shawn Killinger and gets rid of all the qualified ones! Nancy was pleasant & GIA gem qualified! Unconscionable move by QVC!

  2. Maloyo Says:

    Although I question some of QVC’s host decisions lately (who they keep vs. who they let go) I can see why they let two jewelry-based hosts go. The recent Gem Day made me realize they rarely sell jewelry anymore. Most of the stuff they do sell in in silver and it costs as much as it did when the similar stuff was in gold. Gold prices have put gold jewelry out of reach for casual buyers.

  3. Gina Says:

    She’s been on there awhile, as I remember. I’ve never been much of a Q person, but I watch occasionally. She’s one of few left who’s really a good host.
    Anyone know how long she’s been there? I hope it’s her decision to leave, not Q’s, but I doubt it. These channels are all letting good hosts go and keeping annoying ones.

    • Lauren Says:

      Gina
      A couple things I’ve read says Nancy started with QVC in 2009. It seems like she’s been on there longer, to me.
      Poster Kristin in the Trumpet blog was first to call her exit. I hope it was her decision, but I doubt it.
      I see Maloyo’s point, but why not keep her and let her sell something besides jewelry. I’ll miss her, she’s a good host. Home shopping is really a disappointment these last few years.

      • Gina Says:

        Lauren
        Thanks for the info. I agree that it seems Nancy started at QVC before 2009, but time is becoming generic to me.
        I know she will be missed. These channels are really wielding the axe, aren’t they. And disappointing is an understatement with the way they are doing things.

      • Barbara Says:

        Gina, Lauren
        I’ve never been a huge Q viewer but did watch more awhile back. It does seem that Nancy started before 2009…maybe around 2005 or 2006?
        Anyway, she has always been a good host and they do seem to keep the annoying ones and fire the good ones
        Good luck, Nancy. I wish you smooth sailing and many blessings.

  4. Carolyn Simpson Says:

    well, qvc screws up again! they keep awkward, manic, obnoxious sean killinger and let go a really viewable host. another example of why i dont watch anymore.

  5. cp Says:

    Maybe some of you are remembering when Nancy was on JTV, prior to coming to Q? Before that, she was on the long-gone Gems TV.

    • Gina Says:

      cp
      You’re probably right; I watched JTV frequently back then and was confusing when Nancy made the switch to QVC.
      I’m taking the rest of today to wind down; I’m working on an incredibly tedious project and it’s giving me major stress. I’m ahead of my deadline, so I might as well take a break. So I’ll watch some home shopping to numb my brain!

  6. Puddin C DiRocco Says:

    Nancy was on GEM TV…..

  7. Puddin C DiRocco Says:

    Nancy’s Bio from QVC’s website and even a page here on Home Shoppingnista mentions GEM TV not JTV….

  8. Eileen Schnell Says:

    I will sure miss Nancy…She was a gem. Why they get rid of the good ones and keep people like Shawn Killinger is beyond me. Shawn is the most annoying person. She is in love with herself.

  9. Elma Wilderman Says:

    cool site. Thanks for posting.

  10. Elena Ballone Says:

    I loved Nancy Hornback…you need to get rid of shawn Killinger, can’t stand her, Amy talks so fast makes your head spin, Julie, talks thru her nose, don’t like her, these hosts sit around like their at home in their living room.

  11. Lila Newman Says:

    How many new show hosts do they have.
    They all talk like robots

  12. Dee Plato Says:

    I wish it was Jane Rudolph that would leave QVC already!!!!

  13. Barbara Kelley Says:

    I never understand why they fire personable, informative hosts & then turn around & hire people to replace them. Do they really save that much money? I really miss Nancy & Antonella. These hosts are like family to many. And not to be mean but I agree about Sawn. She’s not my cup of tea.

  14. bebe Says:

    Your cost cutting measures like letting live models go while we look at web pictures of items sucks! Also who is editing your descriptions? There are words misspelled!

  15. A. Collazo Says:

    How disappointing to hear that Nancy is gone! I’d rather have a knowledgeable, well spoken person that cares more about the customer than herself. Kersten Lindquist, uggh! I can’t stand hearing her. She’s the most self-centered, conceited host that you have and her grammar is horrendous!!!!

Leave a comment