Brave Paralyzed Mom Inspired New QVC Jai Jewelry Collection

Designer Scott Grimes’s blog about how his mom inspired his new collection of Jai jewelry for QVC may bring tears to your eyes.

http://community.qvc.com/t5/Blogs/What-inspires-you/ba-p/3254747

Grimes is a John Hardy veteran who heads up the lower-end Balinese sterling silver line that’s sold on the No. 1 home hopping network. The new Inspiration Collection, which features necklaces with the words “faith” and “believe.”

In his blog, Grimes tells the story of how he was one of five kids with a very loving, active mom, Donna, who was an avid tennis player.

Jai Inspiration Collection

When she was 60 in 2001, she was hit from behind in a car accident and woke up after being in a coma for a week to find out she was paralyzed from the waist down, a quadriplegic.

Grimes described talking to his mother shortly after the accident.

“I didn’t know what to do, I started to say to her, that if this isn’t the life that she wanted, she didn’t have to fight for us,” he wrote. “I told her that all 5 kids were raised, that we would take care of Dad and we would understand if she didn’t want to fight. Seeing my mom in this state was almost too overwhelming. In that moment she looked over at me with this bewildered expression and said, ‘Oh my gosh, are you going to kill me?’ after a couple moments of silence we both started to laugh out loud. She said she was crying because she felt so blessed and that all she could feel was gratitude.”

According to Grimes, “She went on to tell me that if this accident had happened with you kids in the car, or if she had been hurt and couldn’t raise her own children, then she might have thought God had forsaken her. She looked up at me with a smile and said something amazing is going to happen, she said this happened for a reason. She said, I know you are going to think I’m crazy, but I was chosen for this. She then looked at me and asked, ‘Did your sister bring my make-up here?’ I said yes, she said good, can you please put my face on, Dr. Green does his rounds early in the morning, and he is adorable.'”

Now that woman is an inspiration to us all.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

