HSN Vendor Microderm360’s Kelley West sues partners for fraud

Kelley West, who appears on HSN as the spokeswoman for Microderm 360, is not a happy camper. She has stepped down as the rep for the micro-dermabrasion device, and is suing her business partners for fraud and “civil theft.”


West posted her tale of woe on Facebook, along with a link to her lawsuit against Ira Smolens and Mark Presser.

Kelley West and Microderm360

Kelley West and Microderm360

“I am sad to announce that I am the victim of a fraudulent scheme by my former business partners that makes it necessary to cancel all appearances on HSN and resign as a spokesperson for my brand, at least temporarily,” West wrote.

“In late May, 2015 I filed a nine count lawsuit in Florida against my partners that includes claims for fraud and civil theft relating to the micro-dermabrasion machine I invented, the Microderm360.”

Here is the complaint:


West, a licensed medical aesthetician, formed a company with Smolens and his cousin Presser. Since being launched on HSN in 2013, Microderm360 has generated $7.5 million in sales, according to the lawsuit.

West claims that she hasn’t received the royalties that she is due, and that her partners funneled money from her company.

And to add some sex to the litigation, the suit claims that Smolens “was engaged in fraudulent activity, namely a ‘casting call’ scam in which he improperly induced lingerie models into his home in Boca Raton, Fla.” Maybe he wanted to show them his etchings.

Smolens, its seems, also had been sued by the Federal Trade Commission for credit-card fraud, according to West’s lawsuit.

She also charges that Presser has filed a patent application for her machine.

There are also plenty of other allegations in the lawsuit.

“To those of you who have been so loyal to me, thank you for your support!” West wrote on Facebook.

“You’ve bought every product I’ve ever created or endorsed, you’ve followed me from one network to another and I want you to know how much that means to me. My goal has always been to create great skincare devices that actually work and to encourage women (especially those of us over 40!!) to embrace their age and celebrate their beauty. I am so proud of my Microderm360 device and the fact that I can’t sell it makes this situation so difficult.”

A few days later, West had more to say.

“Last year at this time I was so excited about the success of my company and here I am, a year later, fighting these bullies for the machine I created! Wtf?,” she wrote. “My ex business partners threatened me yesterday and demanded that I stop posting about my lawsuit. They stole my patent, funneled all the revenue through their company not mine, lied to me over and over and they’re now making demands that I stop posting on my social media??”

And we love her response to their demand.

“I’m reposting the lawsuit and I’m going to continue reposting every freaking day!” West wrote. “Ira Smolens/Smolev/Molens (name changes) and Mark Presser, you can both kiss my ass. God bless and have a great day, everyone!”


We wish you luck with your lawsuit, girlfriend!

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “HSN Vendor Microderm360’s Kelley West sues partners for fraud”

  1. Darlene rosell Says:

    Stay strong Kelley! You will have your day to let the truth shine like a beacon and stamp out the darkness of fraud and deceit and emerge victorious!

  2. Yvonne LoCicero Smith Says:

    We love your product, stay strong

  3. Kathy Polansky Says:

    sorry to hear this! will i be able to purchase the black sponges or will the stop in time i see the products are not listed oh hsn/
    good luck

  4. KAREN s Says:

    Those of us who are fans of Kelly, we are all wondering what we are to do with our product (360) now that no parts, etc are available?I NEVER USED MINE, as the suit came not long after I received mine.
    How is her company handling our situation? IF the new product on HSN, which APPEARS to be from her an improvement over the original ? Will she allow HSN purchasers to exchange directly with the new company ? ANY attempts to get answers from HSN go unanswered, JUST WRITING the name on the HSN blog, one is “bumped off ” Perhaps due to the management person at HSN who was somehow involved in bringng Kelley and “the alledged sleazeball” together to create MICRODERM 360??
    What were the results of the suit?
    BTW, long story, but if you care, Despite HSN’s “No problem, just return it in 30 days” claim they Kicked me off for too many returns about 2-3 years ago. They will not mail anything to anybody at this address !! Nearly all returns were unused as the product was not as described, a PART of a multi part system of which i could not afford,
    ugly, wrong size….no totally understandable returns ! And the department which made this decision would not speak to me. Back then, at least, the salespeople (95 percent skincare/cosmetics, 2 KEPT electronics, a one time attempt at shoes, 3 clothing, kept 1, tho hated it !) 5 star credit, also, at that time. No warning. Called to order and was told the above. I burst out laughing, later got mad esp considering the hard sells, urgency (only ” X” remain order now!!)
    and misrepresentations (esp cannot be used for/by…, and not complete to achieve results)
    Thank you.
    Karen Simpkins
    Nashville TN

  5. KAREN Simpkins Says:

    Regarding: My unique experience with HSN and questions re the Microderm 360 suit status and whats being done for those of us sitting with a unused 360. HSN is NA re this subject, perhaps due to THEIR employee’s involvement in coordinating Kelley with Smollens,
    whose name we are alllll unsure.

  6. stacey Says:

    Kelly – My best friend just went out on a date with him today… she met him on Match.com. He told her his name was Ira Smaller. At the end of the date he gave her mircoderma machine. When she got home she told me about the date so I thought I’d google him. There is no “Ira Smaller”. So I goggled Ira & Mircoderm 360, and, thank God, I found this article. Thank you for letting us all know what a pig, and fraud and crock he is… whatever his name is. God Bless.

  7. Bonnie Marcano Says:

    Kelly you just stay strong and kick some ass we love you and your product**

Leave a Reply

