QVC Names Jill Martin Creative Director Of G.I.L.I. Line

For those wondering if Lisa Robertson’s exit from QVC will mean the end of the G.I.L.I. apparel and accessory line on the home shopping channel, the answer is a big fat no. We think. You decide.

The No. 1 network said this week that it has named Jill Martin, who the New York Post described as of the “Today” show, as creative director for the G.I.L.I. collection, which for those not in the know, stands for “got it, love it.”

In its press release, QVC described Martin as a television personality and fashion expert. She will make her debut presentation March 26.

On Facebook Martin thanked the Post’s Page Six for doing an item on her new gig.

Jill Martin

Jill Martin

Mastin is co-author of The New York Times bestselling book “I Have Nothing to Wear!,” as well as “Fashion for Dummies” and “The Weekend Makeover.” Under her direction, the G.I.L.I. collection will expand to incorporate her organizational line, “which mixes fashion and function,” according to QVC.

“I am so excited to begin this new venture with QVC,” Martin said in a canned statement. “My passion is to help women look and feel their best with fashion that combines quality, affordability and style. QVC is the perfect platform to do this, and the G.I.L.I. collection has a classic yet fashion-forward approach that appeals to so many.”

You could have fooled us, but Martin has been working with QVC since debuting her organizational home collection in 2013. She also served as the red-carpet correspondent for QVC’s “Red Carpet Style – Live from L.A.” broadcast and has supported various QVC charitable initiatives, including QVC Presents “FFANY Shoes on Sale.”

“We are thrilled to be working with Jill in this new capacity, given her proven rapport with our customer,” Rachel Ungaro, QVC’s vice president of fashion merchandising and design/development, global sourcing, said in her canned statement. “Her creative expertise, smart sense of style and engaging personality are the perfect combination for success in this role.”

We were confused by QVC’s press release, however. It’s last line says, “The G.I.L.I. got it love it collection is available, while supplies last, through, QVC apps and by calling 800.345.1515.”

Why while supplies last, if Martin is the new creative director? It makes it sound like the line is ending, to us anyway.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

