Former HSN Host Rachel Huber Joins Canadian Shopping Net

Former HSN host Rachel Huber has landed — in Canada.

Huber posted on Facebook that she is heading north.

“The time has finally come to announce my new host position at The Shopping Channel in Canada!” she wrote. “I’m thrilled to be joining the team and I’m most looking forward to shopping with all the wonderful viewers!”

Rachel Huber

Rachel Huber

At first, we couldn’t place where we had seen Huber before. But some friendly Facebook folks reminded us it was HSN.

Among the people congratulating her for her new gig was HSN host Bobbi Ray Carter.

The Shopping Channel gave Huber a warm welcome on Facebook.

Her bio says that Huber had 10 years experience in electronic retailing on HSN, and she described herself as a “shopping-ista” who has “a distinct passion for jewelry.” Hey, don’t copy our Homeshoppingista name, girlfriend!

In an interesting note, it says that Huber worked for eight years as a middle school French teacher in Omaha.

She’s married to Kurt, and “is a mom to three cats Monet, Mia and Paris.”

Tags: , , , , ,

57 Responses to “Former HSN Host Rachel Huber Joins Canadian Shopping Net”

  1. Joanie B. Says:

    Dave James has just left QVC. See if you can find out any skinny on that, OK Linda ??

  2. homeshoppingista Says:

    I did a blog on it, and it certainly doesn’t seem voluntary. I thought he was a class act.

  3. Queen Celeste Says:

    I wish Rachel all the best in Canada. I miss her on HSN, and her lovely, low key approach to sales.

  4. Suzanne Says:

    The full length picture of her here is ADORABLE!!! I will miss her, in fact, I noticed her absence, and I will miss her classy elegance on HSN. Thank you very much for updating us on her whereabouts.

  5. jey Says:

    Rachel was the only host I did not put on mute, such a lovely, calming voice, she could sell me anything, I will miss you my dear, God speed.

  6. Andrea Martin Says:

    How old is that skinny pic. Sure not the Tubbo tsc

  7. Queen Celeste Says:

    I assume that’s a fairly recent photo. She looks just gorgeous and I want that dress!

  8. Ana Says:

    Another old friend gone. Rachel Huber was my late night insomniac friend and she will be missed. But I want to wish her well. She could sell anything to me. She wasn’t the annoying host that so many are, especially when they try to be “girlfriends” and laugh needlessly. That Alicia Machado and some others are so insincere and disruptive when they interrupt the vendors. We don’t care what they want or bought. just shut up.

  9. Emile Says:

    No kidding what a hot pic, so what the hell happened she got thunder thighs now

    • Deborah Says:

      Emile, I don’t think she’s gained much if any weight since that pic was taken. Rachel has naturally bigger legs…no matter her weight. My late aunt was the same way…teeny tiny from the waist up, wide hips, and large legs. And she was underweight. Like Rachel, she chose slacks and jackets, and longer skirts over more fitted garments. Rachel’s face is thin in her recent pics, which is a giveaway.

      We are not all gifted with perfect bodies and faces, hair, etc. We learn to work with what we have, and make the best of it. Rachel is a lovely person, and HSN made a HUGE MISTAKE letting her go. She is lovely on the inside most of all, which is what counts. There are many women…and men… with perfect thighs who have empty souls. It looks like Rachel is headed toward a goal, however; and may she stay as sweet as ever and prosper.

      One can hope that the comment you made doesn’t reveal someone with a small weak soul. Thunder thighs don’t start wars, end marriages, burn villages or kidnap children. What are you doing today? I wish you peace and an open mind.

  10. lanna Says:

    This is later and we all know Rachel is off tsc…..and it was a big mistake on hsn’s part to let her go, but….I do not want to join Facebook, and have been following Rachel’s. If anyone on here sees this, and is on Facebook, please pass this on to Rachel.
    She recently planted tomatoes in containers and is having pest probms. People are giving her good advice, but tomatoes are hard. I wanted to suggest she try Topsy-Turvy tomatoes; the hanging ones. Less prone to pests and up off the ground. And thanks to whoever lets her know.

  11. lanna Says:

    That’s pest problems. Sorry missed the type-o

  12. David Rosa Says: hot.

    • Bob Says:

      Ah, David, have a horse fetish, do you? Actually, she looks like a guinea pig as well. Guinea pig eyes and horse mouth, with those huge teeth.
      I did like her quiet sales approach, however. I came on to post about her new questionable “job”; others have beat me well to the point. Looks like this guinea horse will be raking in the hay, from her new unscrupulous venture. The (guinea pig) ” ayes” have it; I give this job a big old “neigh”. Giddyup.

      • Deanna Says:

        Bob, you almost made me spit water on my tablet! I turned away in time. ROTFLMAO. Your post was funny. A little blunt, but funny.
        I liked Rachel, too…until this latest endeavor. But, her likes have gone up 4 points today. The whole thing is tacky and smells of soft armed robbery.
        To add to your..uh…description of Rachel….yes, she is definitely horsey. A little length added to her hair would help, and smoothing it instead of sticking it out all over. She looks good as a ginger, but it word flatter her more to tone it down just a bit with a little brown. Also, keep away from red-red lipstick; wear rose, pink, or nude tones. She also wears horrible shoes for her legs/feet. She has very thick legs and clubby feet…and she wears mostly chunky, clunky shoes. Wear something more streamlined…and comfortable.
        Well, all I can add to that is, go back to teaching, Rachel. You will at least respect yourself. Listen to your conscience.
        And Bob….you should be a comedy writer.

      • Belinda Says:

        Deanna, I totally agree with your makeover ideas for Rachel’s hair/makeup/fashion. I think she’d look great.
        But I don’t think she is doing anything as bad as home shopping sales. What she’s doing is perfectly legit. Most skin care photos are like that. I looked at the ingredients in the products; they’re very good. As another poster said, they will work for some people. I do agree that the price point is way too high….especially considering the tiny sizes of the jars of facial cream. But I think it’s a good venture for her.
        Oh, Sharon..I wondered about the pyramid thing, too. Hopefully Rachel checked it all out, and it’s OK. It’s a large, known company; one would think they would keep things clean so as not to tarnish their reputation.

      • Mark Hendrix Says:

        Although your post has some truth to it, Bob, it’s a little mean. I always liked Rachel what little I watched of HSN. She was easier to stomach than some of those screaming maniacs. But she definitely needs some beauty and fashion tweaks – heck, forget about tweaks she needs an overhaul.
        Hair, longer, fuller, not so BRIGHT. Ow my eyes.
        Clothes, wear pants, slacks, jeans. She has huge legs with cankles; she needs pants to smooth it out. Ditch the big clunky shoes, too. She looks like a cartoon from one of the Beatles’ acid days album covers. A tiny pea size head with ginormous huge legs and feet.
        Now that I’ve ripped on her appearance, I feel kinda bad. But truthfully she’d look a lot better if she changed it up a little. She seems nice, I don’t know about the pyramid thing everyone’s talking about. Hope she finds her calling.

    • Beth C. Says:

      Which animal do you look like, Bob???? Lol, your post was mean, but funny. Rachel is in serious need of a new hairstyle; this one makes her look more equine than she does already.
      OK, people, why the vendetta against Rachel Huber? I agree, pushing sales hard, and with those misleading pics, on Facebook, is tacky tacky tacky. But she is still the same nice person we’ve known all along. Ok, I don’t get the gems-to-skincare thing, either. But I know FL is kind of a hard place to find work right now. Who knows why, but let’s not throw her to the lions.
      Skincare is a funny thing…certain brands work on some people and not others. Even the cheapest house brand drugstore stuff works on some people; my cousin swears by her $10/jar drugstore brand night cream. And she looks good, too; who’s to argue? The stuff Rachel sells has some good ingredients; but I do think it is over priced. It should cost about half of what it is going for. That said, I’m sure some people will see results. So it’s not a con game; I’m sure there is a window of time to return it if it doesn’t work; you know, a money back guarantee.
      So chill, people. Rachel is still the sweet lady you knew all along.

      • Alice Says:

        Rachel really could use a hair change; that little skullcap do is a don’t on her. She’s cutre but that doesn’t do anything for her.

        She doesn’t deserve all this others have mentioned, this job is much more respectable than working in home shopping. OK to post it on her Facebook, just not so aggressively. She’s a nice person and I like hrer, and wish her well.

      • Marie Says:

        Rachel Huber will be closing her public Facebook page on Nov. 1, and using a private Facebook page. You can only go on there if she invites you to be a friend.
        That is totally countering her efforts to sell the RF skincare. It makes no sense, but leaves me wondering if there is something crooked about the whole thing. I still think Rachel is OK, but the whole career process since she left HSN has been very weird. She used to be a teacher, why not fall back on that? And the gemstone career, what happened to that?
        HSN was wrong to fire her, that’s for sure. I hope she finds something better than this shady RF thing.

  13. David Rosa Says:

    shes the best

    • Heather Says:

      She’s the best LIAR. I used to like Rachel and was sorry she was fired from HSN. I thought she was pretty honest for a shopping host. Sure, not all the stuff they peddle is great.

      It seems her new job is selling skin care products from the proactive makers. She’s on Facebook selling this stuff, and some hours ago posted before and after photos of a lady who used their cream. The before photo is dark and dingy, like in a darkened room with no flash used. The after photo is bright and light, like they put a strong light or flash on her face. Duh, of course her skin looks brighter….she’s standing in way more light for the after photo.

      Wow, Rachel, we know most of these photos are photoshopped to sucker us in to buying stuff, but most not so plainly obvious. It seems like I have no choice but to put you in the sleezy salesperson category. And you seemed so nice. What a disappointment. And, BTW, I’ll never buy from you OR that Rodan Fields line, just because of that hokey picture. Good luck with your sleezy new job.

      • Cindy Says:

        I saw this as well. I also thought she was going to be working with jewelry/gems.
        Once a home shopping host (read used car salesman), always a home shopping host. These people will try to sell trees to birds. I thought Rachel was different; oh well, I guess. I have unfollowed her Facebook, and will just check in on the cats here and there. I no longer care for her….zooming around in her Beamer and pretending to care about people. Too bad.

      • Dana Says:

        I agree with what everyone says about this. Although I like Rachael, I figured she was just a softer spoken version of the other hucksters like colleen, etc. They are all programmed to make you give up your money.
        What’s bad about this is, there is an obvious alteration of the photographs. And, it seems her sales took over her Facebook. I guess that’s allowed…but it’s cheap and cheesy. A friend of mine sells a well known brand of makeup. She puts her phone number up, and anything important…”everything’s half off”, etc. Otherwise, her Facebook is social. As for being disappointed, I’m not. Nor am I surprised.
        The only puzzling thing is, why did she sell skin care after taking all those GIA classes? Unless she took the GIA for self improvement. Seems she could make a lot more money selling jewelry. And appear less sleezy.

      • Sharon Says:

        I have nothing against Rachel’s new job, and she’s perfectly legit. HOWEVER…
        I looked on the R+F website, and I’m worried that Rachel may have unwittingly become part of a pyramid scheme. Go on there and read about their company. I hope I’m wrong, but I smell pyramid scheme. Be careful Rachel and good luck. If I’m wrong….go get ’em!

      • Erica Says:

        I agree with Josie. Everyone is bashing poor Rachel unfairly. The R and F skin care job is much more respectable than working for home shopping, and you liked her when she did that. Yes, the pictures seem a bit dishonest, but I’m sure the skin care works on some people.

        Rachel is happy about this, as we should be for her. She’s a nice person. Let’s stop judging and wish her well.

      • Josie Says:

        I think Rachel deserves another chance. She really seems like a nice person. I agree with all, though, that the before and after pictures look totally set up or photo shopped. Either the r+f company is not kosher, or they just chose some bad photos, and so did Rachel.
        I think the all out sales pitch on Facebook seems desperate….and very low class. She should keep that to a minimum, and set up a website for that. It was a big mistake to post those photos….many, including myself, will not trust a product with such false photos. She should take them down, and say they looked much different on the company’s website or something.
        I like her but I don’t get the quickie gig at TSC, then the gemology courses…and now this job with this off-center skin care company. She needs to settle and do one thing; she appears to be flighty and unreliable. Constructive criticism, Rachel. Some you should seriously listen to. Good luck; you’re going to need it.

      • Ytzett Says:

        Rachel Huber is just another Stepford clone. I started to post something else on here, read the comments, and went on Facebook to see what’s up.
        There are 2 questionable photographic comparisons, plus lots of ads pushing the product and trying to recruit more clones. I went on Rodan Fields website and OMG the prices for that junk are cover the moon. I have a decent income and could maybe afford it, but it would eventually drain me. I’m raising my daughter alone and these prices are just too much. And I agree, it’s a shoddy company to use those “doctored” photographs. In the second one, it looks as though they may have even used 2 different people. Nothing could make me buy their stuff.
        You can forgive, a little, the hosts’ phoniness on TV; they have to push what’s given to them. But Huber chose this, and is posting those ridiculously phoney pictures by her own will. I liked following her cats, too. But I unfollowed her, as well. First, I sent her a message, asking her if she knew how doctored the photos looked (even though I know darn well she does). I have sent her messages/left comments before and she always answers….look, there are very few comments there to begin with. This time, no response, and the one comment I left was taken down FAST or not posted to begin with. Most likely, she’s blocked me anyway. Which is fine.
        I did think she was more honest and sincere than most of them. I was wrong. She really is a slimy salesperson. At least I make my living helping people, not conning them out of their hard earned money to buy bogus junk.

      • Jen Says:

        To see these altered photos on Rachel’s Facebook is a little surprising. My mom and I really liked her on HSN. She was on TSC for about a year, then quit there. So fired from HSN, quit tsc, and home to study gemology. Now, she boasts herself as executive consultant at rodann fields. Their site says consultant, not executive. I’m thinking she couldn’t find anyone to take her on in the jewelry business, perhaps.
        The pictures from rodann fields are altered deliberately and as one person says, the person in the eye cream photo looks like it’s two different people. And if we can see it so can Rachel. So it’s mentioned or advertised in Martha Stewart Living. They paid for their space. All they’ve ever been known for is proactive. A product which works for some people and not for others. Anti aging skincare is a different matter. One can only hope they can stop wrinkles as well as they zap pimples. And the cost of their skin care is astronomical. Most of us can’t afford that.
        One step further, I checked the ingredients. I use some organic stuff….not even 1/5 the cost of r and f……off the organic company’s website with many of the same ingredients. I’m fighting future wrinkles now. My mom uses it to combat some she has. She likes it; and it’s organic…no bad stuff getting absorbed into your skin and lymphatic system. You just have to look and do research.
        Back to Rachel. I guess we lost a friend we were comfortable with. She learned from Coleen well. There’s someone who fought her way to the top and didn’t look back nor care about the junk she sold along the way. Rachel is right behind her. She’ll have her own dock on the bay, home on the water soon.

  14. Jennie Says:

    I’ve missed Rachel terribly on HSN and follow her occasionally on Facebook. She seems to be a good person, kind and genuine.
    She recently became a consultant for Rodan and Fields skincare; and is posting ads for it. I was very disappointed today to see pics up of a before and after “comparison”. The woman supposedly used their product. The before shot was done darker, no flash. The after shot was visibly lighter….flash was used. So of course her skin looked lighter and brighter in the after shot. This is a good example of the trickery and deceit some companies use to sell products….often skincare or makeup. You can tell the lighting was rigged….it was very blatant. At least some of the tricksters use more subtle cheats.
    I’m very disappointed to see that Rachel has stooped this low to make sales. It’s one thing to hawk the qrap on TV….we can figure out what’s good and what isn’t. This was “Buy this skincare from me even though I’m using rigged photographs to sell it because it doesn’t change your skin this dramatically.” After this, all I can think is she’s another used car salesman….just like the other liars out there. Too bad, Rachel, I….and many others….thought you were different.

    • LaVanne Says:

      I saw Rachel’s Facebook as well. Heather and Jennie, you beat me at the post! I agree with both of you. I am saddened, too, and disappointed that Rachel turns out to be like the rest.
      What makes me confused is why did she go to all the trouble of studying and getting her GIA, and learning about gems, if she was just going to sell this skin cream? And their products are not that good. My niece tried the proactive, it did nothing but dry out her skin. She tried Dr. Murad, and that really worked.
      Two skincare lines who honestly don’t seem to doctor their photos are Elizabeth Grant, and Skinn, by Dimitri James. I think the Elysée line is pretty good, too. I use an organic cream for eyes and face that is $15 for 2 ounces. It works great! I get it through Walgreens.
      I feel bad about Rachel, and now I cannot trust her, too. We all need to make a living, but I don’t believe in cheating people to do it.

      • Carol Says:

        I just noticed this earlier today. I can’t believe she posted such an obviously staged/doctored photo comparison. Does she think we’re stupid? And Marean, I agree; her likes have lowered by 400-500 points. And fewer people leave comments.
        If you work at home, of course you’re going to push your products on social media. But first she was our friend, sharing her cats, her garden, her studies. Now it’s all about the sales. And unethically, at that.
        This has certainly changed my view of her. I wish her luck in life but I can’t say I wish her luck in this deceitful venture. I wish her the common decency to apologize to her followers, and go find something honest to make a living at. For a change. She fits right in, now, with loud talking hucksters on TV shopping. At least they aren’t hiding who they are behind soft voices and garden photos.

      • Marean Says:

        I agree with all of you. I saw the photo on Rachel’s Facebook page about an hour ago. I came here (always good/interesting talk on home shoppingista!) to see if anyone else had noticed…you have.
        First of all, LaVanne (pretty name BTW), your last sentence sums up the whole thing. No, we should not cheat people to make our living. But I wanted to add a couple things:
        First: the hipocrisy of these shopping hosts! “I use this brand every day and it works!” The next week, hosting a different brand (I’m thinking skincare here), ” I’ve used this brand for several months now and my lines have almost disappeared!” And on and on with each brand. We know you don’t use them all….you’d have 20 layers of product on. How about saying you love and use 1 particular brand, then say you’ve tried some of the others as it’s part of your job, and have supplemented your regular brand with them, or change them out with your usual brand. Sure, you can find something new you like better…but what about those products you “couldn’t live without”, Rachel…now it’s all rodan and fields?!
        Second: have any of you noticed that her “likes” have gone down in numbers since she started this? A little before she announced her new “career”, she had 1900+ likes. She is now down to 1500, and the comments have all but disappeared. NO ONE commented on the cheater before and after photo she posted. People may not say anything, unlike us here, complaining, but they are not stupid and will move away from scams like this quickly. Unless you are severely vision impaired, the cheat in the photo is way beyond obvious. The woman’s skin was unchanged.
        I have unfollowed her myself and wish her little cats the best. She, like several other people I know, and some of them close, have turned out to bre much different than they appeared. Disappointed, and sad.

      • Bennie Says:

        I can understand why many of you feel this way, especially after seeing the photos. But I don’t think Rachel has changed, she’s still a nice person.
        As elsewhere mentioned on this thread, most skin care makers use these cheesy photos. I, too, checked up on the ingredients. And they’re pretty impressive. The prices are high…but so many things are in these times. Also, r + f gives a 60 day money back guarantee. I think you’d be hard pressed to make those teeny containers last 60 days, but the guarantee is there. And 60 days should tell you if it works for you or not.
        I do agree that she is pushing it a bit too much on Facebook, but I’m sure she’ll get her own website in time. Let’s let her breathe before we start whipping her with a wet noodle. And as several wisely pointed out, this is a much more respectable gig than selling on the shopping channels.
        Not trying to overstep anyone’s opinion; just trying to help you not lose a good friend. :-) And keep things more positive. Too much negativity in the world today. Thanks for reading.

  15. Bev Says:

    To Sharon, a poster on this page:
    I have no problem with Rachel selling on Facebook, etc. But your comment might be the most insightful one on here. I don’t know about the pyramid thing, but I’ve been reading her descriptions about ALL the HUGE plusses of working for r and f….almost too good to be true. It looks, to me, like you would be out a LOT of money to start out as you have to buy their products, which are very expensive. Then, “you don’t sell, you just tell/show the remarkable results, and the products sell themselves”.
    Hmmmmm…..if that’s true, why is she pushing that stuff so hard? Brings me back to an old saying that rings very true here; ” If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.”

    • Lourdes Says:

      To Bev, and Sharon

      After reading a recent Facebook post describing this “dream job”, I can tell you for sure it is a pyramid scheme. And I think Rachel knows exactly what she’s doing. I don’t like the manic pushing of this thing and its products, nor do I like being inundated with cheesy before and after photos. So I will, for the most part, avoid Rachel’s social media accounts.
      I really liked her previous low key sales approach; this is not inviting nor attractive. Like so many have said, what about the gemstone career? No one comments for the most part on the skincare posts. It’s almost scary how she’s evolved into a pushy recruiter. I am curious to see how long she lasts at this. You need to be a barracuda to succeed in jobs like this; I wouldn’t have thought so before, but I do believe she has the teeth now to be one.

      • Glenna Says:

        Rachel is closing her public Facebook and will only do her personal one, and you must request to be a friend and she’ll add you.
        There are negative and positive posts on this page, and I can see both sides. I miss Rachel on HSN, what little I watch of it. But, I don’t get the 1 year in Canada, nor the jewelry classes- that dead ended.
        I have never heard of the (non-acne curing products) other skincare lines at R and F; they are out of the blue. Maybe I lead a sheltered life, but I’ve never heard of them before. Nor has my cousin, a very busy esthetician. One would think she would have heard of it, being licensed and in the business.
        And let me add this: Huber is NOT a cosmetologist, esthetician, or dermatologist. I don’t see how some big (if it is indeed) company puts people out there as consultants when they probably don’t know as much about skin as most of us.
        So, my opinion of this gig is that it’s complete and total bullsh**. And Rachel will probably reap whatever she sows. Most of us will not know- she’s getting out of the public eye. Can’t stand the heat, I guess.

    • Catherine Says:

      Rachel is closing her public Facebook soon. I am surprised to see how many posts, negative and positive, the skin products sales career has inspired.
      I agree that this is some kind of pyramid thing, and the comparison photos are really obviously “rigged”. I like Rachel, but I wish she had chosen something more legit.
      I think she’s removing the Facebook page from the public because of negative posts.
      I do miss her on HSN, but I have not shopped on there in awhile. I just turn it on for entertainment. She was a soft and knowledgeable host on HSN; she seems quite a bit sharper and hungrier now.

    • Chantal Says:

      Yes this thing Rachel does now is suspicious, Bev. And one more thing to add. You can buy the skin creams directly from the website, you do not need to go through a consultant.
      I looked at Rachel’s Facebook, and she describes the process of working there. Unless I have not been properly schooled in what is a pyramid scheme, it IS a pyramid scheme, nod to Sharon.
      You make more money recruiting other “consultants” than you do selling the creams. It even said that in her description, if you read carefully.
      Bev, I’m from France, and we have a saying like yours over there. Translated, loosely, it is “if you are unsure about something and need to look at it twice, better not keep looking”. I like yours better…” If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.” Good luck to Rachel, I will not follow or join this venture. No one leaves comments on her skincare posts…a sign that her followers aren’t going there with her. They are wise.

      • JJ Says:

        I’ve been following Rachel’s public Facebook for awhile, and also this thread. Just some info to add…
        I still like her, but I agree that there is some kind of scheme going on, pyramid or otherwise, at r+f.

        She has recently posted that she will close her public Facebook Nov 1, and use only her private one. Unlike Lisa Robertson, Rachel will let you follow BY INVITATION ONLY.

        It seems to defeat the purpose of hawking the creams on her Facebook page. Either she’s seen some of the negativity on here, or sees that no one responds to the skin care posts…none of them. As for the negativity; everyone is entitled to their opinion; that’s what forums like this are for. It seems strange, but it’s her prerogative. I won’t be able to follow; I closed my Facebook account awhile back. And that’s OK; it seems there’s too much of one’s life being thrown around on social media. To each his own.

        If you’re a fan, go request to be a friend so you can follow. I am a little disappointed that she made that elitist move.

  16. Suzi Says:

    Been reading these posts, see both sides. I do like Rachel, she’s missed on HSN. What happened to the GIA thing? Don’t like the facial cremes gig; seems to have a dark side.

    Not a facebooker, but noticed Rachel’s public page is gone. And her personal page has only 70 likes. :-( It was pretty sparse on the public page with 1600. How will she push the cremes now?

    What I was allowed to access on her personal page was paper thin; 4-5 photos…OLD photos, and a couple scant comments. If she is trying to get out of the public eye, I can’t blame her….but this whole thing reeks of suspicion.

  17. Avira Says:

    Been lurking here off and on, interesting points of view.
    Friend or for, Huber has left the public eye. Hiding in shame? Whatever, her public Facebook has closed down…

    • PJ Says:

      I’ve been reading here too Avira. I have some info to share.
      I went on RF website to do deeper research. Huber calls herself a level 1 executive consultant. Hah! The average monthly income for that is a little over $200.00. A level 2 makes just over $500.00 per month. You have got to be kidding me. The average person would lose their home, car, etc. while waiting for this stupid gig to become a real job. You’d need to be well off to begin with, which I’m sure Huber is- and I’m sure her hubby makes $$$$ too. What a joke. Avon, anyone?!?!

  18. Lillian Says:

    I thought for sure someone would beat me to the post, but since no one did, here goes.
    Rachel Huber has closed down her public Facebook page, and her private one is accessible by invitation only.
    I was a fan, and although I still like her, she has come across as dim and desperate lately. I don’t watch any home shopping channels anymore, so her absence from HSN doesn’t affect me. I hope she dumps this new gig and goes back to being her nice self. Anyway, she’s not an esthetician or dermatologist, so taking skincare advice from her is like taking skiing lessons from a ballerina.

  19. Justine Says:

    Wow- last time I was on here there were just a few posts.
    Do you, Homeshoppingista, or anyone else know why Rachel Huber closed her public Facebook account? And why only a select few are able to access her private account? It seems she has caused quite a negative stir amongst her fans with her new job. I don’t care either way bit it does seem out of character for her.
    I’d appreciate any info you could pass along; I’ll check back periodically. And thanks.

    • Cassandra Says:

      I wondered the same thing. Hopefully Miss Moss or another poster can enlighten us. Like someone above mentioned, going private will certainly not help her sales.
      I’m in the jewelry business and it can be challenging to keep sales up in this economy. But it sounds like she has more education to sell gems than skincare. There is a piece of this puzzle missing.
      All in all, I hope she’s OK with what she’s doing. I, too, sense something is out of order.

      • Joanna Says:

        I saw Rachel’s linked in profile. If you read down a bit, to her education, her GIA stuff was from 2003 and 2004. She has pearls and general GIA; I bet she flunked diamonds and colored gems recently. I don’t remember her celebrating her completion or final exam.
        I like her, but following her on Facebook has given me new perspective. I think she’s a little “slow”. I genuinely felt bad about them firing her from HSN; and she was a good host. But there were a few instances where she seemed absolutely clueless about the product(s) she was presenting. I don’t think HSN gives you too many chances…if you screw up on air, it goes badly against you.
        Now she has this beauty gig; as others have said, she is NOT a skin care expert. And she is not making any money. As a few posters have said, she should go back to teaching. But who knows…maybe she was fired from that, too. It’s time for her to reevaluate her situation honestly. It seems she’s slipping downhill.

      • Camille Says:

        People usually take themselves out of the public eye for one of two reasons:
        1. To protect themselves
        2. To do things they don’t want others to know about.

    • Vera Says:

      I don’t know officially why she closed her public Facebook, but I think a good guess is that she doesnt want any more negative comments on the r and f shady operation.
      It reeks of pyramid plan, and is Stepfordized like you wouldn’t believe. You make almost nothing to start out…way less than the crap you’re required to buy to be a “consultant”. At 45 I’ve probably forgotten more about skin care than Rachel Huber will ever know.
      She lost the teaching bug, and got bitten hard by the $leazy $ale$ bug. No matter how they appear, all these hucksters are the same.

      • Carmella Says:

        I still like Rachel. I’m a single mom, and several years back when my child was an infant, rachel kept me company in the over night hours when she couldn’t sleep. I’d rock her in my chair and watch HSN. I thought rachel was a more believable person; not so loud and desperate or phony drooling over the products like some of them. My daughter is now in high school, and as much as she’s grown, there have been huge changes in hsn- and not for the better.
        They sell over priced clothing from “designers”; most of which were previously unheard of. And most of it is over priced….the same thing- better quality, too- is sold at a fraction of the price at Walmart. The jewelry now is worse than hit and miss. I bought a welo opal ring from Colleen…who I think is a big fake. But I liked the way the ring looked so gave it a chance. Missing stones, colorless stones (glass?!?) Ring was too top heavy….3 tries later it went back for good. I’ve sent quite a bit of Colleen’s stuff back, clothes and jewelry. That was my final HSN purchase. And I haven’t watched in months, even for entertainment. They used to offer items that were good, and new…and not available anywhere else, at great prices. It started going downhill at the end of 2001; now it’s lost for good. I’ll never shop there again. Or any other shop channel…they all are bad.
        As for Rachel, what she’s doing now is worse than the shopping channel gig. I guess she couldn’t pass the GIA courses. She needs to find something better. This facial products gig is a scam. And it’s not a money maker. It IS a pyramid scheme, and I think Rachel knows it. That’s probably why she closed down her public Facebook page. Too bad.x

      • Mimi Says:

        I checked into this as well. Rachel makes it sound so lucrative… and it isn’t, for a very long time, if at all. I don’t care for Rachel anymore. Either she changed, or is finally showing her true colors. I still like her cats, though.

  20. Dan Says:

    Poor Rachel. She can’t seem to find anything and stick to it. She didn’t do well at home shopping networks, and is now making nothing as an Avon type salesman.
    I liked her quiet manner, so unlike many of the hosts. She seems like a nice person. I hope she can find something good and stick to it.

    • Donelle Says:

      I feel bad for Rachel, too, Dan. Just as a mom up thread rocked her infant to sleep while watching Rachel in the wee hours, I sat with her shows as I battled insomnia. Sometimes I’d fall asleep on the sofa, and awake at sunrise with HSN still on! Somehow through all that I managed to get up and go to work in the morning. I had horrible insomnia several years back.
      Anyway, I haven’t bought anything from the shopping channels in awhile; quality down and prices up equals not for me! But I miss Rachel and her calm presentations.
      She apparently failed her GIAs; and I guess Canada was too cold and far away…I don’t know what she was thinking. But now she is making $2 a month selling over priced facial creams. I don’t think it will last long. And closing her Facebook public page seems counter productive to me. I think when HSN fired her it just blew her away to the point she doesn’t know what the hell she’s doing. I hope she wakes up and makes something of herself.

  21. Tom Dean Says:

    I like Rachel, but she has gone overboard with this facial stuff. It’s all over twitter now. She keeps bouncing from bad to worse….go back to teaching, Rachel

  22. Delia Says:

    If I still watched HSN, or any other shopping channel, for that matter, I would miss Rachel. I gave it up just around the time she was fired from HSN. In addition to firing her, they’ve sleezed out in so many ways. All of them…nothing good to watch or buy.
    I hope Rachel finds her groove. I don’t think the skin products are it. Happy Thanksgiving to all.

  23. Al Says:

    I just found this thread and have read most of the posts. I came on here because I just noticed Rachel’s Facebook was gone. I haven’t checked in on her in awhile. According to what I’ve read here, she has found a new job. And I went to her twitter page, and she is pushing the stuff she sells on there.
    As some have mentioned, I pretty much figured she failed her gemstone final(s). I remember she passed a preliminary test and then there was no more word on it. My wife and I were rooting for her; we’re not big home shoppers but there is a small group of hosts we like, and she was one. This new job sounds shady as others have mentioned, and my wife says their website smells of pyramid schemes. I thought better of Rachel and am surprised and disappointed at this.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,316 other followers

