Get Your $900 Fake Fur Coat At HSN, Sucker

We’re sure they are gorgeous, but what’s up with HSN selling faux fur coats for $900?

The home shopping network Thursday had a show featuring faux fur coats by top designer Naeem Khan. They were done in Tissavel fake fur, which is something ShopNBC used to sell.

The price tags were eye-popping. A long fake chinchilla coat was a whopping $700. Other coats in the collection ranged from $450 to $800.

Are you kidding us?

Tags: , , , ,

13 Responses to “Get Your $900 Fake Fur Coat At HSN, Sucker”

  1. Robbie Says:

    I was thrown by the prices also, until I remembered I had paid $700 for a Pamela McCoy Tissavel full length, sheared black faux mink back in 2006. The price of the actual fabric (a woven fabric, not knitted) obviously hasn’t gone up, nor the construction, and although I haven’t received it, I did order the black faux mink vest, for $400. I’ve been looking for a vest that wasn’t a crazy, long haired fur, & when I saw this, I didn’t think twice. I’ll let you know if the quality is of the caliber of my first purchase,
    & if I’m going to keep it. I’d NEVER in a million years wear a real fur, even tho’ I can well afford it, & Tissavel makes the very best, realistic quality. The price reflected was actually from Naeem’s selection of the French manufacturer’s product, not the actual finished product. Some of his other pieces are ridiculously priced, & I’d never spend $200 on a trendy blouse that I’d wear, maybe, 3-4 times before the trend passed. These coats, because of the cut, will last decades. Sign me, A Sucker

  2. Liza Says:

    When Pam McCoy was doing Tissavel @ SNBC the prices were pretty close to that- and she’s not a “name” designer.

  3. Wayne Says:

    There’s a lot of things fake about preachers, politicians & TV personalities on a daily basis so it’s not a big deal to me. The best thing about HSN is the hot, sexy, beautiful ladies Lynn, Kathy, Diana, Colleen & the one I can’t remember at the moment. The shopping channels will sell anything to get the most viewers/buyers no matter how fake it is. Even though Lisa R. of the Q is the tops in everything as a host & a beautiful lady in my book. I will say that Lynn Murphy is one of the hottest women in the home shopping spectrum & a great host on HSN.

  4. Kimberly Thibodeaux Says:

    Tissavel is a very high quality woven faux fur that is head and shoulders above regular faux fur. I bought one of the coats and don’t consider myself to be a “sucker.” I really enjoy your column, but I don’t think you should stoop to insulting those of us who purchase certain items.

  5. Liza Says:

    I know the people who bought Tissavel from SNBC were more than happy with theirs.

  6. Kimberly Thibodeaux Says:

    Yay, Robbie–another fellow “sucker”! Thanks, all, for supporting my position. I also have a couple of Pam’s Tissavels and they are stunning and I wouldn’t trade them for anything! I also don’t wear real, but I appreciate a well-made “replica” as Pam calls them! I’m looking forward to getting Naeem’s black mink longer coat–I’m sure it will be gorgeous, too!

  7. Cheryl Says:

    I read an article recently that said people believe if something costs more, it must be better. Yet, in blindfold studies, they will frequently prefer the cheaper product. So, why spend $125 for a Dennis Basso, when you can spend $700 for a Tissavel?
    Oh, btw, Costco had very nice faux fur vests recently, for less than $50.

    • Kimberly Thibodeaux Says:

      I’ve purchased Dennis Bassos and sent EVERY SINGLE ONE back! They were horrible. That study may be true for some things, but I know what I like and have the experience to prove it. I’ve purchased faux furs from EVERY line, and by and large, a lot of them are really awful. Also, if you have never seen or felt a Tissavel, I really don’t think you should condemn those of us who like it better.

  8. carolyn simpson Says:

    I dont own a tissavel, but I want one. They are gorgeous, like the very finest real furs. Sadly, I cant afford one, but SOMEDAY!!!!!!! The only furs I own bark at me with love in thier eyes. Now thats priceless.

    • Kimberly Thibodeaux Says:

      Carolyn–what a sweet response–I couldn’t agree more! I have a couple of those four legged furballs, too!

  9. artsy NY Says:

    I own many real fine furs and lately I’ve decided faux was the way to go. I’m one of those gals who also purchased a Pam Tissavel on Shopnbc and do not regret it. The quality is superior to any other faux fur out there and when next to my real the feel is very very close. Naeem’s pricing on HSN is higher than Pam’s but then again someone has to pay the “designer label” & overhead.

Leave a Reply

