ShopNBC Axes Another Host, Shawn Wilsie

A beloved tipster let us know that ShopNBC has gotten rid of another well-liked host Shawn Wilsie.

Shawn Wilsie

Here’s what the No. 3 home shopping channel put on Facebook Saturday.

Thank you to Shawn Wilsie for over 20 years of service with the company. We here at ShopNBC, want to acknowledge his dedication, contribution, wit and wisdom over the years. We wish him the best in his future endeavors.

And don’t let the door slap you in the butt on the way out.

Our source told us that when someone asked him on Twitter where he was going, he said nowhere, he was going to have time on his hands.

“Arggh!” our source wrote.

Tags: , ,

46 Responses to “ShopNBC Axes Another Host, Shawn Wilsie”

  1. Donna Says:

    Are you SURE he was FIRED? If so, I’m a stock holder and am going to raise the roof!

  2. chrisgnan Says:

    I’m sure Shawn can find a very successful job with 20 years of Shop NBC on his resume!

  3. Andrew Rothman Says:

    Raise away. He didn’t fall; he was pushed.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I have to remain anonymous (and I realize that my comment will have less credibility that way), but I know for a fact that the decision to leave ShopNBC was not his.

  5. Robert Says:

    Honey, he was fired….let go…good bye….it was not his choice.

  6. Linda Says:

    The long term hosts were making more money I’m sure, so SlopNBC got rid of them. I can’t believe that channel is still on air – horrible hosts and products. I think Kendy’s face is going to melt live on air one of these days, man she looks like she’s been rode hard and put away wet!

  7. Barbara Says:

    If they dumped him in order to make room for Patti Reilly, I will have a stroke.

  8. VAL P Says:

    Lynne Schacher, Kendy K and Melissa Miner ..Watch your backs!

  9. Barbara Says:

    @homeshoppingista – All we can do is hope that the ex-QVC executives that are now at Shop NBC have prior experience with Patti and that they already know better. I’m sure she would love a gig like Dave King has – live in LA and fly in to tape some shows and jet back. She seems to have “nothing going on but the rent” and if she did have something in the works, we know she would be all over the place with it! I don’t wish her bad luck but she started out as a good host and then, I have no idea what happened. At the end, she was unwatchable.

  10. Roger Says:

    I stopped buying from the months ago and don’t even watch anymore. I think Shawn was one of the best they had.

  11. L. L. Finelli Says:

    Why would they fire the two hosts, Charla and Shawn, that I actually bought items from and when I wasn’t going to be home, would TiVo? There’s another host I like, too, but I won’t mention their name lest they be fired or struck by lightning or something.

  12. TOMAS STEYBE Says:

    First Jim Skelton and now Shawn , I have stopped watching and buying anymore watches. They both made me a watch collector. I have Invicta watches, but now its InvictaShop.com, I guess I am back to retail and worldofwatches,com…………..ANTI SHOPNBC GOING FORWARD

  13. Eliza Cross Says:

    Shopnbc ruined Value Vision. I AM CALLING FOR A BOYCOTT. I have watched Value Vision for more than 2o yrs. I stop shopping soon after it changed hands, and they got rid of the hosts that we all know and love.

    I am calling all shoppers to stop shopping at “CrapNbc”. Oh sorry! Shopnbc. Let’s show our support for those who were unceremoniously fired because they worked hard over the years and have earned their salary!

    Let’s unite and let Shopnbc fall! Most of what they sell is junk anyway compere to what it was.

    ValueVision represented class. ShopNbc represent trash!

  14. david l hall Says:

    Im not going to watch Shop N B C any more or buy from them since they fired Shawn Wilsie.The best you have ever had you have lost.

  15. JANET BOBANNO Says:

    So much for dedication and hard work for a co. That’s why your no. 3. You lost “ME AS A CUSTOMER”

  16. JANET BOBANNO Says:

    Att: CEO OF SNBC! WAKE UP. YOUR GOING DOWN WITH YOUR SINKING SHIP. I CAN’T WAIT YOU DESERVE TO ALSO BE UNEMPLOYED. LOL! LOL!

  17. JANET BOBANNO Says:

    Another thought. LETS HIT EM WHERE IT EEALLY HURTS. $$$$$$$$! BOYCOTT SHOP NBC NOW! WHY DON’T “THE OTHER SHOW HOSTS SHOW THEIR SUPPORT FOR YOU SHAWN? SO MUCH FOR UNITY HUH? GOOD LUCK. YOU ARE TRUELY MISSED SIR.

  18. Sammy Says:

    Wow…like all current shopping channels, hosts will either no longer renew their contracts or get axed if they don’t attract shoppers or meet sales quota. Also it appears that Shop NBC has not suffered from the intermittent exodus of disgruntled shoppers. Case in point: the amount of sell-out items generated from gem events guested by the ‘Three Amigos’, by the numerous on location remotes from Invicta’s Florida headquarters, and the introduction of new or revamped watch brands this past year. Bottom line: tv shoppers will always be surfng channels and won’t stop shopping when there is a sales event and clearance prices to entice.

  19. Kathy F. Says:

    How very sad. Shawn is a wonderful host. I hate the thought that they replaced him with that buck toothed Miss Minnesota who dresses like a cast off pageant girl. She is so stupid, misprononuces gem names and has no clue what she is doing…..what an ugly, ignorant thing she is. I guess Shawn had too much class and mature humor for the heads. We will Miss you Shawn! Best wishes for an even better job elsewhere.

  20. Tony Says:

    I knew they were screwing with him. They had him working all kinds of weird hours, not giving him a break between watch shows and mattress and coin shows. He was the master when it came to watches. I haven’t seen many watch show since he’s been gone.
    What’s up? I really think the vendors don’t want to work with anyone who does not know their watches.
    Shopnbc is going down the tubes.

  21. Zeke Says:

    I seldom if ever watch ShopNBC since they let Shawn Wilsie go.

  22. Ralph Del Valle Says:

    Sorry about Shawn, but I have quit watching since so many of the watch brands (Invicta, Stuhrling, Constatin Weisz, Adee Kaye) are crap. This opinion is based upon then numerous times I have had to send a watch in for servicing after less than 1 or 2 years, and how long it takes to get it back. Invicta is particularly heinous as it takes 3 months plus just to get a battery changed as all their watches have to go out of the country.

  23. Maria del mar madera Says:

    FIRST IT WAS CHARLA AND NOW SHAWN WILSEY. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM YOUR COMPANY EVER AGAIN. THEY DROPPED THE TWO HOSTS WHO I ENJOYED WATCHING. NO MORE. I USED TO DROP A HUGE CHUNK OF MONEY BUT NOW I HAVE A SAVINGS ACCOUNT. SORRY SHAWN. ITS THEIR LOSS BELIEVE ME. I WILL MISS YOUR DOWN TO EARTH UNPRETENTIOUS WAYS AND YOUR GOOD HUMOR. GOD BLESS AND GOOD LUCK. SHAME ON YOU SHOP NBC.

  24. tom nie Says:

    Shawn introduced me to the world of watches with his detailed dialog and accurate information, now they don’t even weigh or measure any watch and skip by important details to go for the glamour model shot, I watch to learn and that has stopped.

  25. Bill Palmer Says:

    I’m amazed how many people buy Invicta Swinees watches. Used to be a good brand until they decided to make most of their watches in China. Then they have the gall to state ” Swiss parts movement. Does that mean there are parts that aren’t Swiss?

  26. joe shmoe Says:

    Yeh, you’re right. There’s no reason to tie up a watch for 3 months to have a battery changed. They say if you open up the back, the warranty is gone. Let me tell you, it’s cheaper to take it to a jeweler or do it yourself, and screw there warranty/ For a $100 watch between the shipping to them, plus the $25 you have to send them for handling, etc., Take the back off and change the battery for 3 bucks. I have an Invicta automatic that stopped running after my wrist bumbed something. A watchmaker told me it wouldn’t be worth it to send it back. With all the costs invovled it’s better to throw it out.

  27. Pat squid Says:

    What can you do??? The world is full of assholes like shop NBC.

  28. HOLLY J. OWEN Says:

    EVERYONE;WHOM LOVES SHAWN,JUST FOUND HIM, HE IS NOW PART OF LIQUIDATION CHANNEL. THEY HAVE JEWELRY FOR A FRACTION OF SHOPNBC,24/7 AND ALOT OF THEIR QUANITY IS ON SHOPNBC, THEY MARK IT UP! I’M ON THE WEST COAST;SF, CA..CHANNEL 77, BUT YOU CAN FIND THEM IN ALL OVER THE USA, CANADA AND MEXICO. HE’S ON AT THE MOMENT, 1ST DAY;SUNDAY..MARCH 3 AND IS MAKING THE SHOW WONDERFUL, HE CAN BE HIMSELF..FUN! TO WATCH..HE SEEMS SO HAPPY! YEAH!

  29. Elyse Says:

    Yes, saw Shawn last nite on the Liquidation Chanel-so fun!
    They won and Shop NBC lost. Charla Rines and Jim Skelton are on the World of Watches-I stopped watching Shop NBC on the weekends-sick of Invicta watches.
    For the Dan Dennis fans-he’s back in Florida-and has his own website-dandennis.com. Check him out!

  30. Donna C Says:

    Shawn is a great addition to the Liquidation Channel! He has a wonderful knowledge base and such an engaging presentation. The happening city of Austin is a perfect place to showcase his talent. You can also see the hosts live on the web at http://www.liquidationchannel.com; I have purchased many beautiful pieces of jewelry at a fraction of what it would cost elsewhere! I am just a fashionista who likes to get more bang for her buck!

  31. Big Poppa T Says:

    Shawn was a true salesman and entertaining, too. Watched him for years and he really knew his merchandise. Blocked Shopnbc….new hosts are areal joke. Bye forever.

  32. vic Says:

    Shawn wilsie is a great host.he was very smart when it came to watches.the female hosts I’m not sure if they know how to change the time on a watch

  33. Geri Says:

    Shawn, you are so missed by your viewers on ShopNBC. You were the only host who explained everything that we needed to know to make an educated guess. You always showed the items (jewelry) from every angle. Thank you for all your wonderful years. Hope you are happy and that I can find you again on another channel. Loads of good luck!

  34. brooklyn bob Says:

    shop nbc has reallyhit the skids over the past few years. the firing of shawn wilsie,one of their best hosts being fired was he straw that broke the camels bacl with me. the invita watch brand is nothing but garbage. i cannt count how many times ive seen allison waggner loaded on air especially when their doing remotes from invicta in florida. one time it was so bad that michael davis tried to cover for herbecause she wa slurring her words. kendy has also fallen into that group on occasion.wha the hells going on downthere in florida?why aren thestockholders screaming for blood when they see thisi im sure that im not the only vewer to notice this behavior shop has fired their most knowledgeable hosts like shawn wilsie and jim skelton to keep on a group of over the hill hosts.the ONLY good host they hae left worth tuning into is HEATHR HALL. shop somewhere else.

  35. Susan Says:

    I was so disappointed and IN SHOCK to find out that Sean Wilsie was no longer a show host on ShopNBC. Sean was one of my FAV hosts. His presentation of the items in his shows were very enthusiastic and his knowledge of watches prompted me to become an avid watch collector. I viewed his final show on YOUTUBE.com and was very moved. Sean was a very sincere, well liked host and if ShopNBC is going to be firing their BEST show hosts they are going to lose viewers. I, for one, will no longer watch or purchase from Shop NBC because I don’t agree with their policies for firing show hosts. Charla, Jim Skelton, Pam & Wes (I am unsure if their departure from the show was their own personal decision) and now, Sean, were some of my FAV hosts. These are the show hosts that made ShopNBC the GREAT shopping network that it was. You cannot just dismiss and discard those who put you ON THE TOP. All of these hosts possessed professionalism, charm, personality, a GREAT sense of humor and a profound knowledge of the items they presented. There is no substitute for their long term experience. I wish Sean THE VERY BEST in his future endeavors. He ALWAYS appeared to be a WONDERFUL person and I truly believe that he will find a job that will appreciate the talented individual that he is. THE VERY BEST OF LUCK TO YOU SEAN!!!! I will miss you….

  36. R, L, RN, BSN Says:

    I don’t even wear my watches any more. I felt alive listening to Jim. He was intoxicating. Who needed coffee when Jim was on. I know that my coworkers (RN’s & MD’s) turned to see your channel because of my comments regarding the Android watches & others, not to mention the hosts & my own watches. Even they want to know what happened with that shopping channel. Jim needs to have his own show. I really miss Jim, Charla, Pam, Wes, Libby & Sean. Shame…From the hard working people in hospitals that are using uniform & watches can make a difference in so many levels like getting to know others, even patients.

  37. Walter Says:

    Shophq sucks Dick!

  38. Sharon Schultz Says:

    Notice that ShopHQ is now running videos of reruns at night, LOL.

  39. John W. Says:

    It’s funny, Shawn had not an enemy in the entire world. He was always engaging and knowledgeable. I did catch him on another shopping channel recently and it was sad to see him on an inferior network.
    As for Jim Skelton, he needed to go. He was getting too big for his britches and his attitude needed an adjustment. His designs for Invicta were awful and didn’t sell. He’s surface on World of Watches where he should be grateful he even has a job. Between his shouting and on-air nasal sniffing I don’t think he’ll last long there either. Charla, also a ShopNBC veteran was on WOW but she stepped out for a smoke (or a drink) once too often and now she’s gone.
    Tim Temple is back after his catastrophic departure that gave us Jim Skelton. I got the impression Tim was burned out. His passion for those Invicta watches ebbed. He ended up on a lame shopping channel selling garbage and realized he had not fully appreciated his old job (and salary) and wanted back, thus forcing Jim out, or something like that. Tim is way more knowledgeable than Jim and brings a new found enthusiasm these days.
    Meanwhile Invicta is still pushing those freakishly large watches that were popular for about 6 months until people realized they were just freakishly large watches with hard to read dials. I’d like to see a better selection in the future.
    Best wishes to Shawn!

  40. Sharon Schultz Says:

    I mean they are running videos of shows that were on during the day.

  41. Linda Says:

    I noticed that Libby Ford and Abby from one of the vendors, Renata Watches is now on JTV. Also Pamela McCoy is designing and selling jewelry also on JTV. At one time Paul Deasy’s wife Judy ( via QVC & HSN) was also on ShopNBC and then JTV and
    no longer there. I guess he had no problem with continuing to work with a company that let his wife go.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,228 other followers

