More On QVC Host Lisa Mason’s Departure: Thanks Hugh Jee

When we wrote about QVC host Lisa Mason leaving, our talented fellow blogger and TV-history-genius Hugh Jee pointed us to a post on QVC.com.

It was a copy of a story that was in the QVC “January Insider” about Mason’s departure.

Thanks fellow New Jerseyite Hugh Jee, for the tip. For a great read check out his blog, Useless Trivia and Mindless Rants. It is anything but that.

Here is the story from the Insider:

Hello, Good Bye

Audrey Laine

After 15 years at the Q, Program Host Lisa Mason has decided to return to her first love: news broadcasting. What prompted Lisa to make this decision was a question many of us may have asked ourselves at some point in our lives: What does the future hold for me?

“I came to the realization that I’d done everything that I could’ve possibly done at QVC,” says Lisa. “You kind of come to a jumping-off place where you either continue on the path which is fulfilling but not necessarily as challenging as you’d like, or you step into another career path. So it looks like my life will return to my former love and I’ll be heading to New York City.”

Lisa Mason’s straight-talking style has a way of drawing you in and making you feel as though you’re right there with her, trying out Mally’s latest eyeliner. She’s compassionate, yet punchy; salt of the earth, yet sweet. All of these qualities make Lisa the perfect addition to any TV newsroom.

Lisa was an anchor, talk show host and producer for public broadcasting station KETA in Oklahoma City prior to joining QVC. Over her 15 years as host, she’s aced the art of rolling with it. “With any new job, you’re more uptight when you begin and are not certain of yourself. I wouldn’t say that I’m certain of myself, but I’m relaxed enough to make a mistake. So when I do, I just move on. And I enjoy the experience much more because I don’t take myself so seriously.”

In the early days, friend and mentor Mary Beth Roe gave Lisa the best advice: just be prepared. “Being ill-prepared is probably the worst thing you can do at this job,” Lisa stresses. “You really can’t wing it. You have to know the truth before you say it.”

When asked why she thinks people relate to her so easily, Lisa chalks it up to staying on topic. “I’ve always tried to never make the presentation about myself or my interests. The description of the item solely and purposefully has to be focused for the understanding of the viewer. That is the job. It’s really less about self-promotion and more about understanding the item.”

Lisa’s built countless friendships at the Q, and two pals in particular are just a couple blocks away from her Upper East Side home—Laura Geller and Michael O’Connor. Other influential people include hosts Leah Williams and Jayne Brown, both a continuing source of support. Lisa fondly remembers making a “Let It Snow” music video with Jayne. After recording and arranging their vocals, the pair spent an astounding 12 hours at the shoot. “It’s one of my favorite QVC memories. It was a long day, but it was really super fun. Jayne’s a great singer.”

Many of Lisa’s most cherished moments have been on air with viewers. “What’s always been so meaningful to me Is when a viewer calls in, let’s say during a Diamonique® show, and their story becomes very personal—either the loss of a spouse, a challenging time, recovery from an illness. These are some of the stories people have shared, which they didn’t have to but chose to.”

It’s not surprising that customers feel like they know Lisa, and she considers this the biggest compliment. But there are some things people may not know, such as how she’s training for a half marathon and holds a license in real estate investment. “My husband Gino and I have bought and sold numerous properties since 2000. Our rule of thumb is we only buy what we would be willing to live in. We buy it, hold it, live in it for a year and a day and sell it. It was fun, but those days are kind of over.”

Sounds like Lisa and Gino will be calling Manhattan home for more than a New York minute.

Tags: , , , ,

15 Responses to “More On QVC Host Lisa Mason’s Departure: Thanks Hugh Jee”

  1. Hugh Jee Says:

    “……..our talented fellow blogger and TV-history-genius Hugh Jee “.

    (“I’ll take TV WESTERNS OF THE 1960’s FOR $100, Alex.”)

    Awww shucks! Even a blind squirrel finds an occasional acorn.

    That Lisa M tidbit was something I just kind of backed into inadvertently. looking back on it all, I guess a clue to Lisa’s departure would be her disclosure that she and Gino were living in NYC. That commute to West Chester from New York would be brutal by car and unpredictable by transit ( 200 miles round trip)…..and she seems too grounded in reality to do that long term.

    Thanks for the shoutout Linda. And if we don’t “talk” until whenever, may you and yours have a great Christmas!

  2. Marcia Says:

    What a wonderful – kind – beautiful host. She will be missed

  3. Wendy Swanson Says:

    I have been a Q customer for as long as VQC has been on air, and have never talked on air to Lisa or anyone, but being seriously disabled, I watch the Q many hours/day. I love Lisa Mason, and could not believe she was going to leave. I’ll miss her wonderful, loving, caring personality and deep Christian beliefs that make her who she is and why we all love her so much! See you in God’s House, Lisa! I look forward to knowing I’ll spend eternity with people like Lisa Mason…I almost look forward to it….
    Thanks again for all the laughs, Lisa!! God be with you!!!!!

  4. More On QVC Host Lisa Mason’s Departure: Thanks Hugh Jee « Homeshoppingista's Blog By Linda Moss | World`s daily news Says:

    [...] follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. you can leave a response, or trackback from [...]

  5. Maureen Says:

    Lisa:

    I have been wondering why I have not seen you! I am so sad to hear you are leaving QVC. I watch daily, and will miss you greatly. I enjoyed watching you especially on Diamonique shows, you will be greatly missed. We all have our favorite hosts, you were definitely one of mine.

    Good Luck with your new path, and enjoy not commuting that distance any longer.

  6. Barbara Says:

    I truly will miss you. You have kept me company many hours and always have enjoyed your calm and comforting demeanor. I certainly hope that any endeavors that your and your husband Gina take on make for a wonderful life for the both of you.
    Best Wishes always, will miss you.,

  7. Danica Henderson Says:

    Had no idea that you were leaving QVC. Just came to the realization that “hey, I haven’t seen Lisa Mason in a long time.” Decided to check the internet to see what was up. Sorry to see that you have left QVC, but also hope that you have fun in this next portion of your life. You are a truly kind, sweet, caring, funny and beautiful person both inside and out. You are a very genuine person, unlike some of the other newer hostesses that QVC has hired over the past probably 5-8 years. Just wanted you to know that I’m one among millions of people who will miss your personality. Best Wishes and God Bless.

  8. Valerie A. Smith Says:

    Hi!
    Thanks so much for the answer-I do enjoy th Q, and so loved Ms. Mason….WShere will she be broadcasting from?

  9. Van Says:

    Lisa, it’s been a real down to earth pleasure! You’ve been part of my family for years. I wish you and Gino well! God’s Best

  10. Linda Ceigerkansky Says:

    Lisa, I was wondering when and where you went, as I hadn’t seen you for awile. Best of Luck in your new adventure. You were a
    definite pleasure to watch , very professional etc.

  11. Betty M Says:

    Thank you Liza, I loved you and will miss you. I really hope things work out for you and enjoy your life. How is your husband. I cannot remember his name, I know it is Italien.

  12. Really good post...I was searching for something like this. thanks Says:

    Really good post…I was searching for something like this. thanks…

    [...]More On QVC Host Lisa Mason’s Departure: Thanks Hugh Jee « Homeshoppingista's Blog By Linda Moss[...]…

  13. Deb Rizzo Says:

    I certainly hope this departure had nothing to do with the development of “The Lisa Robertson Show”. I would imagine this show idea ruffled quite a few feathers. I love Lisa Mason. Very down to earth. Wish you the best Lisa.

  14. Melody Vowell Says:

    Lisa

    I could not believe you left QVC but I wish you and Gino the best nobody can ever do diamonique the way you did I tried to watch every Sunday eveing since you left I haven’t watched it once.
    Love you and Thanks for the fun.

  15. Carol Ann Bertucci Says:

    I wondered where you were. You were gentle, smart ,kind, and will be missed. Where wil you be broadcasting from I am a native N.Y. er L.I. 5 towns. Been down here on W. coast of Fla. 16 yrs. hate it. Hoope to be back home in L.I. by summer. Thought things were better here, WRONG. I guess I will become a snowbird. Miss ya, Carol Bertucci Good Luck in whatever you do.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,227 other followers

